1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

backing up copy protected pc games

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by tambycat, Feb 10, 2005.

1. tambycat

tambycat Guest

Hi, all. I am completely new to this pc game stuff and I want to back up my copy protected pc games. I am clueless about the whole process. Would really appreciate help along the lines of an 'Idiot's Guide'! Are there any equivalent downloads to Clonecd, Blindwrite and Alcohol 120%? Freeware or Shareware preferably. Also, what is alcoholer?

2. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

There are no freeware apps for backing up PC games so you're going to have to pony up for one after the trial versions are over.

The two most common protections are SafeDisc and SecuROM so here are a couple of threads that'll give you a good idea of what's involved as far as software and settings for each one:

http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/157664

http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/117498

http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/134052

Please post back with any further questions :)

3. tambycat

tambycat Guest

Thanks for the help. Unfortunately, I rushed ahead before I received your reply and downloaded a trial version of CloneCD. So far I have made back up copies of my games CATWOMAN and ROLLERCOASTER TYCOON 2. Both of which won't work. I can install them but when I try to play nothing happens. I just stay on the desktop. Am I doing something wrong?

4. geestar20

geestar20 Active member

Some programs ask the writer what kind of cd is inside the drive (a blank or a pressed disc). This is the so-called ATIP check which can only be performed by cd writers and combo drives. In case the ATIP check reveals that there is a blank in the drive, the program refuses to run.