1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

backing up from phillips 890

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by tobnvodka, May 22, 2003.

  1. tobnvodka

    tobnvodka Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've searched around but cant turn anything up.
    So here goes how do I copy a film made on my phillips stand alone using my 104?
    nero and record now wont have it at all.
    I'm thinking of trying instant vob but I've never used this so I'm unsure if it's the answer to my problem

    many thanks for any advice you can offer
    tobnvodka
     
  2. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Your Phillips is probably a DVD+RW Recorder

    Whereas your Pioneer 104 is a DVD-RW
     
  3. daverobie

    daverobie Guest

    I am doing it using dvd2one and nero using the same method as backing up my DVDs
     
  4. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    You can do it , but you'll need a multi-format DVD Burner like a Sony DRU500 etc..

    [bold]daverobie [/bold]: have you dont 'it' using a Phillips stand alone recorder & a Pioneer 104 DVD-RW?

     
  5. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I haven't done that yet, I have a 880 model.

    But I would assume just as daverobie has suggested.

    Ur recorder creates to +r ur 104 is a -r (as herbsman said).

    The +r should just be data, a standard dvdrom should just read it as normal.

    Copy it to ur hd, then either use dvd2one OR maybe just ifoedit (I think ifoedit may just create the correct tables and would be quicker)

    Then burn as normal with ur backups.

    I am going to give it a go this weekend and let u know.......
     
  6. daverobie

    daverobie Guest

    To clarify my earlier reply, I use the philips 880 to record from the TV, and then using a pioneer 105 I copy the video TS folder to the hard drive and then run it through dvd2one in the normal way and it works ok, I have also extracted the movie using ifo edit but dvd2one is easier. I have another PC with a pioneer 104 drive in, I will try it in that one and get back to you.
     
  7. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I just tried it - funny

    The +r played fine in the pc, now when I went to copy it to the hd, the read rate dropped to such a small value it COULDN'T.

    Cheap media, I think.

    Anyway, I know I haven't done it yet, but I'll back what daverobie said.
    Just get it to ur hd and burn the folder as normal. (I need some better +r, using cheapo fws)

    Daverobie, did you just try the 'get vts sectors'in ifoedit - how long did it take?

    Also have you heard of any firmware updates or quirks with the 880 model, as I cannot find ANY info on it._X_X_X_X_X_[small]I never did mind about the little things[/small]
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2003
  8. daverobie

    daverobie Guest

    I tried to copy the film on a 104 drive and it works fine, you are right in that when you get the video ts foulder onto the hard drive you can process it in the normal way. You are also right in that the qualaty of the media has an affect, I am using a Philips DVD+RW disk. I have tried Datawrite DVD+R disks, the ones with the black and yellow top, and my pioneer 104 will not read these disks. I have updated the 104 to the latest official firmwhare and the philips 880 firmwhare is as it came from the shop. I do not update firmwhare if the drive works ok.
     
  9. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Yep, just did one off a philips rw+.

    Put VIDEO_TS folder on hd.
    Run it through dvd2one.
    Burned via recordnowmax - good result.

    A good quality +r will be needed for the original, the rw+ read at 2x whereas my 'fws cheapies' would not read at all.

    Cheers......
     

Share This Page