1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backing up Oblivion 360 - Not a

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by danharris, May 6, 2007.

  1. danharris

    danharris Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    I created a backup of my original Oblivion disc for Xbox 360 and when starting the game I get the error:

    Please insert this disc into an Xbox 360 console to play it

    To make the game work I just need to restart the console and try again, sometimes it works second time...sometimes it can take a long time...Also if I quit the game by pressing the "guide" button and then "Y" I can restart the game fine first time.

    Is this just a common thing with Oblivion backups in a Hitachi drive? One thing I did notice is when I start up the console it says "Play DVD" not "Start Game" like it should. It does start working after a few tries usually and then runs perfectly....

    Can anybody help with this?
     
  2. modster

    modster Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    did you set the bookmark on your dvd+r dl to ROM before you burn the game?
     
  3. danharris

    danharris Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yep exactly same as all my other backups of which none of them have this problem :-(

    Tried on Verbatim and Datawrite, both work but have this slight problem, anybody else had this happen with Oblivion? and is it just Oblivion?
     
  4. immy_2k

    immy_2k Regular member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    oblivionn is this elder scrolls i have backed it up no probs using xbox back up creator 2.4
     
  5. danharris

    danharris Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yep Elder Scrolls IV. I have a Hitachi drive and I get this problem with it not wanting to start sometimes, all my others work perfect first time, once Oblivion is working it is fine!
     
  6. navsav

    navsav Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    My copy of oblivion has always worked fine. Seems like an obscure error - hope you get it figured out.
     
  7. immy_2k

    immy_2k Regular member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    u writing the game at 2.4 and mek sure u take care of ur back ups not letting them get dirty at all
    try cleaning the back up see if that helps
    sumtimes loading of elder scrolls freezes for a second but carries on fine nothing major
     
  8. danharris

    danharris Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yep, burnt at 2.4x etc, I guess I will just put up with it or play from the original disc in the first place. On a side note this is a great game and I got it from Argos for only £20!! I nearly bought the PS3 version instead but decided it wasnt worth the extra £30 it would have cost me lol.
     

Share This Page