1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backing up ps2 games - problems w/ nero

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Ray21, Aug 9, 2004.

1. Ray21

Ray21 Member

Hi, I am new at this so bare w/ me. First off, i apologize if i am asking a question that has already been brought up. I tried to do many searches on the forums but was unable to find a solution to my problem.

I tried to backup a ps2 game w/ nero. I successfully created an image on my drive. When i tried to burn the image the burner failed. This was after only a few seconds. It burned about 64kbs and it stopped. First it said "Generating DVD borders completed successfully". Then it said "Burn process failed at 4x (5,540 KB/s)."

I followed the guide provided on this forum on how to burn ps2 backups w/ nero. I am using a TEAC W58E 8x DVD+RW burner which came w/ my Dell. I used memorex 4x dvd+r. I was reading and writing at max speeds.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Last edited: Aug 11, 2004
  2. $$$$

$$$$ Member

i had the same problems with a Plextor PX-504A and Samsung DVD+R media but i sorted it by burning it at a slower speed. Try updating the firmware too.

3. Winning11

Winning11 Guest

u should burn at the lowest speed possible. (1x)

4. Ray21

Ray21 Member

Thanks for the replies so far. I am using dvd+r media so i think the lowest i can go is 2.4x. Unfortunately, i do not think there is any firmware available for my burner.

Does the reading speed matter(when i am creating the image on my harddrive)? I was reading at max. (5x was the other option)

thnx again

5. jaygizzy

jaygizzy Guest

will he be able to play the back up copy on his ps2 i was able to copy mine but when i went to play it it told me disc wasnt formatted for ps2

6. Ray21

Ray21 Member

Do you have a mod chip for your ps2? Are you using dvd+r media? cuz some ps2 can't read it.

7. jaygizzy

jaygizzy Guest