1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup DVD Movie using DVD Shrink

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by dreamer07, Mar 29, 2005.

1. dreamer07

dreamer07 Guest

Hello All,

I am new to process of DVD Movies backup to DVD+R discs. I have a DVD+RW writer on my notebook and Sonic DVD authoring software to burn DVD's. In most of the posts on this form I have found people using Nero with DVD Shrink. Is it possible to use Sonic instead of Nero? Is there any other freeware which can be used in combination with DVD Shrink to burn DVD+R and that can be played on Standalone DVD players?

Any pointers to help DVD movies to backup on DVD+R disc would be very much appreciated.

I have spent many hours trying to use DVD Copy software trial versions to try and backup. Some failed to play on DVD player even after change of media and some failed even to copy it on DVD+R disc even after displaying a successful completion.

2. arniebear

arniebear Active member

Hi, try free programs DVD Decrypter along with DVD Shrink. Decrypter will decrypt to your hard drive and DVD Shrink will size down to fit on DVD-5, and Decrypter will also burn. For all information needed on how to burn and get software go to this site

http://home.comcast.net/~bbmayo/index.html

3. dreamer07

dreamer07 Guest

Thanks ...

I would try this combination and would get back in case I face some problem.

4. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

[bold]Any pointers to help DVD movies to backup on DVD+R disc would be very much appreciated[/bold]

I am one of those dvd shrink and nero combo as my usual backup process.Here's a couple tips you may want to know:
    1)High quality media,something made in japan
    2)quality burner,one that can booktype a dvd+r to dvd-rom is even better.
    3)A nice,safe burn speed of 4x or lower.