1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup DVD Stuttering Problem on Home DVD Player (But OK on PC)

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by gijoe24jp, Jan 24, 2005.

1. gijoe24jp

gijoe24jp Member

Hello, I am a newbie to DVD burning and I just bought a LC GSA-4163B DVD writer and I was trying to burn a backup of a movie I own when I noticed some problems. So I tried to experiment with different settings, and came up with the following results.

First, I started burning a movie using PC Shrink + Nero Express with 75% compression (4x) onto a cheap brand DVD-R and I did not select deep analysis nor any enhancement. After finishing burning the disc, I tried to play it on my home DVD player, and the movie and sound stuttered on some scenes.

Next, I tried burning the same movie using the same configuration, EXCEPT I changed the media to a SONY DVD-RW. After burning, the movie worked perfectly on my home DVD player.

Third try, I tried burning the same movie again using the same configuration, this time with a SONY DVD-R disc (8x), and stutterng problem occured again. This time, it seemed to be worse than the first disc I burned with cheap no-brand DVD.

Last try, I tried burning the same movie with the same compression, and this time, I check both "deep analysis" and "enhance sharpness" (which took more than an hour for the whole process). I used the cheap no-brand media again. After burning, it worked perfectly on my home DVD player.

I then noticed that these stuttering discs (#1 and #3 experiment) ran perfectly smooth on my PC, and also on my PS2. But why does it stutter on my home DVD player? How come my #2 and #4 try did not stutter? I really don't want to go through the deep analysis and enhancement process for every disc I try to burn because it takes too long. Will someone please englighten me? Thank you very much.

2. saugmon

saugmon Senior member