1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup DVD to hard drive?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Paladin36, Feb 14, 2004.

1. Paladin36

Paladin36 Member

I am a newbie;
    #1, But would like to backup my DVD collection to my hard drive first and then burn to DVD +/-. Have DVD players that except different formats and do not want to burn one of each (+/-). Which are the best applications to use for that.

#2, Also would like to transfer my VHS collection to DVD, what hardware and software should I look for.

Thank you. Pal

2. DaOsT

DaOsT Regular member

well the +/- r issue will go on forever I personally use +r for the simple reason My drive is a + only drive but if I personally had the option I would use -r
    1.. the dvd's at the moment are significantly cheaper
    2.. they seem to play on more varios dvd players than +r's
    I recall reading somewere dvd-r will play on 90% of machines to +r's 85% but you have to figure which is personally best for you

I had the choice over it would be -r but I made My choice and am stuck with it

on the vhs issue unsure last time I tried it I used a capture card but that was a while back
    DaOsT

3. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

Paladin36,

DaOst is correct if we take into account older DVD standalones - Players sold today except all formats - I've even thought that a mini-pizza without toppings would play if the cheese wasn't too runny :))

As far as the Plus / Minus, the Plus is supposed to be a superior disc but there are more Minus discs sold (primarily because of Pioneer's popularity) - I have a dual format burner but prefer + discs myself - Prices, not that much of a gap anymore, +R media is going for about $0.89 to $0.99ea. for decent (Ritek) media.

Like DaOst, I use a capture card for Hi-8 and VHS transfer.