1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Backup your Splinter Cell Chaos Theory Like This:

Discussion in 'Xbox - Backup discussion' started by joschez, Apr 1, 2005.

  1. joschez

    joschez Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    First you need to ftp the files, that is a totally different topic. Once you have the files in your computer you must delete the following files, dashupdate.xbe & update.xbe since the game is a 5.14 GB game, it won't fit on your regular DVD5 disc.

    [​IMG]

    then choose the VideoPal Folder and delete it all.

    [​IMG]

    That will bring down your total disc file size to 4.34 GB, then use an xISO maker, I use Qwix myself. I patched the following with Qwix before I made the ISO:
    default.xbe, dl.xbe, dl_adv.xbe, sc3.xbe, and sc3_adv.xbe.

    [​IMG]

    Good luck.

    if you can't see the pictures, pm me, I'll e-mail them to you.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2005
  2. nastynath

    nastynath Guest

    Yes that's pretty much it!

    I deleted the VideosPAL foder + the dashupdate.xbe and bingo! PERFECT size to fit a single layer (DVD5) disc.
    Burnt at 4x speed with Pioneer burner on TDK - Negative format 1-8x discs.
    My XBOX has the AppleXPRO chip with 120GB HD installed running Slayer_2.4 or 2.5 (cant remember) with a Phillips drive installed.
    Used Xiso to create image to burn.

    Later...
     
  3. vixen76

    vixen76 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Mate!!!

    Followed your instructions and it works beautiful..

    Muchly appreciated..
     
  4. showan

    showan Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello.

    I am about to make a backup of the NTSC version of this game and I was wondering...you say delete the VIDEOSPAL folder. Is there a difference between the videos in the PAL folder and the regular videos folder? I'm just wondering if the 2 sets of videos are exactly the same or not. And will it make any difference deleting the PAL videos. THanks a lot.
     
  5. punqewe

    punqewe Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    same videos,different format.
     
  6. showan

    showan Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sorry I also meant to ask...why bother patching the files that were mentioned above? I've never had to do that before I was just wondering if it was neccessary to do so.
     
  7. joschez

    joschez Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  8. markdav1s

    markdav1s Guest

    what is a patch und how do i do it
     
  9. joschez

    joschez Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    "This will allow you to patch an .xbe file on your PC to remove the media check flag. Simply click on the Patch button and select the .xbe that you wish to patch. "

    Suppostly is to take the copyright from the game, but no one has given me a straight answer.
     
  10. sharky200

    sharky200 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    how can you see the xbox files???
    i dont know how i can see the files in the iso
    plzz help
     
  11. joschez

    joschez Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I myself have not tried this before, but I read in one of the fourms that you could use Crexation 4 to read the image and read the files in the Image. Look on the other forums.
     
  12. markdav1s

    markdav1s Guest

    how do you know which .xbe file you need to patch
     
  13. showan

    showan Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have no idea what the hell the media check flag is. To this day I have not patched an xbox game and I've made about 45 backups since I started. From what I have played with my backups they work flawlessly. There were a few that gave me problems like Playboy: The Mansion required that I set my Evox settings to NTSC video mode in order for the disc to play. And Shadow Ops :Red Mercury required some setting changes as well. Other than those 2 I've had no problems.

    I just burned Splinter Cell Chaos Theory. I removed the files that joschez said to remove but I did no patching. Works fine so far.
     
  14. joschez

    joschez Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Last night I made couple back ups and I did not patch the *.xbe files. The games that I backed up work. I guess I have been patching for no damn reason. Thanks to everyone for the tip. Don't patch, unless your first copy does not work.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2005
  15. Namco

    Namco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I always just figred the xbox iso program does it automatically. I notice that craxation does it. Perhaps all your backups are patched and you didn't notice it?
     
  16. joschez

    joschez Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I use Qwix and maybe it does it automatictly, but you could do it manually, thanks for the info though.
     
  17. audi6

    audi6 Guest

    Hi

    Where Did you download Splinter Cell 3: CT For XBOX or PC?
     
  18. Namco

    Namco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I downloaded mine from the original disc. This is a backup discussion remember? However our friends over at Allstars had a nice little release up on abg.xbox a couple weeks ago
    http://www.nforce.nl/index.php?m=nfo&id=87066
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2005
  19. joschez

    joschez Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  20. sirwesley

    sirwesley Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So i just ripped Splinter Cell Chaos Theory to my Xbox, that is I copied from Game to Computer, then Computer to Xbox HD. When i go to load the game from the Evox menu, it never loads. When i click on Splinter Cell, it goes to the typical Evox splash screen, but then never loads the game from there. I have also removed the update.xbe files, still same problem. Did i rip from a bad disk?
     

Share This Page