1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

backups will not boot... HELP!!!

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by dariusdjc, Jan 22, 2005.

  1. dariusdjc

    dariusdjc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I recently installed the magic v kx chip to my slim v12 ps2. I don't tknow if there is a trick to load backups. It will lead original cds, dvds, ps1, ps2 games. It will also load backup cds, dvds, and ps1 games. It won't load backup ps2 games??? The ps2 backups i am using work on other modded ps2 stations, without any problems. I checked and went over the wiring 4 times to double check if an error was made. Please point me in the right direction.
     
  2. willbnew

    willbnew Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey, I'm having the exact same problem, the only thing that doesn't work is PS2 backups. Someone please help. I don't know if it helps but I got mine from modchip.ca.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2005
  3. willbnew

    willbnew Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Anyone have any ideas I'm willing to try anthing. I would really like it to work. Do you have to flash a magic card? Has anyone ever been succesfull with a magic v kx in a slim?
     
  4. dariusdjc

    dariusdjc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes i got mine from modchip.ca also. I'm 100% sure it's installed correctly too. I submitted a ticket to tech support on modchip.ca and so far have received nothing in return. Any info from anyone regarding that. If i get a response from them regarding the problem i'll post it.
     
  5. dariusdjc

    dariusdjc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    just got this from tech suport: "check magic chip connections to the board use ohm meter to test from board to chip". I'll double check everything one more time i guess...

     
  6. dariusdjc

    dariusdjc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey willbnew were ya able to figure it out or ya still having problems??? Just curious cuz i rechecked all my wiring and tested the connections. I am 100% sure all is done correctly and it still doesn't work on backup DVD games. Ya still having those problems? If not let me know what ya did... Anyone else reading this post please help!!!
     
  7. dariusdjc

    dariusdjc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I finally got it to work. Well to those who get the same chip as i did, for future reference, make sure you check your connections with an ohm meter and add the proper resistor for your laser lense or it won't work. It seems you must add a resistor for the laser on the brand new ones such as the scph-70012CB.
     
  8. willbnew

    willbnew Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanx but do u have the FIX II?
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2005
  9. willbnew

    willbnew Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried that and still no dice.
     
  10. willbnew

    willbnew Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey if it's possible could you take some pics and send em to me. But don't worry if it's too much trouble.
     
  11. dariusdjc

    dariusdjc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    given i am not into pics nor own a camera, it may be a bit tough to do, but everything ya need is on this link http://www.modchip.ca/install/ps2/magic3/magicv11.php
    you can see where exactly they place the chip plus a diagram for where each wire should go. As far as adding the extra resistor, make sure ya ad the right one. The pics show ya where to add it also. Hope that helps.
     

Share This Page