1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bad Flash method

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by nycfusion, May 16, 2007.

  1. nycfusion

    nycfusion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried to update my firmware from 4.2 to 5.3 but I keep getting an error. I am not using a 0800 disk or a bad flash method. What are they for and are they necessary for this situation? What is the problem here?
    All my IDE channels are disconnected. My 360 was on and my SATA wire was connected. I have tried 14 times and no success. Please help

    The error: "fail to open input file"
    I have an ms25 with 4.2 firmware.
    I have VIA Serial ATA RAID Controller (8237?)
    I used xtreme boot maker (old and new version, tried both). I also tried the original method but I still got the same exact error.
     
  2. Memnock

    Memnock Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  3. nycfusion

    nycfusion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The bootmaker on that tutorial wont fit into the floppy after choosing all the options.
     
  4. PS2Menace

    PS2Menace Regular member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You have to either use the bad-flash method or the Enable 0800 disc or you won't unlock the firmguard that's on the 4.2 firmware.
     
  5. nycfusion

    nycfusion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I will attempt to use the 10 second method.
    How would i go on doing it using the original method after typing
    mtkflash w /m x53a.bin.bin

    then what? or do I type mtkflash w /m /sata x53a.bin.bin

    This floppy contains mdos boot files, mtkflash, and x53a.

    thank you for helpin me out
     
  6. Memnock

    Memnock Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You make the xtreme firmware from your orig bin. That'll be named X52D if you used 5.2d like me. Put that on the floppy. So if my case I'd flash with:

    A:>mtkflash w /m /sata x52d.bin

    You can rename the file to whatever you want.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2007
  7. PS2Menace

    PS2Menace Regular member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yeah, after you make your firmware with the make xtreme firmware command from your orig.bin then copy that file to the bootdisk.

    Then it's
    mtkflash w /m /sata x53x.bin (whatever it's named)
    You'll see Xtreme primary
    Turn the 360 off
    Select Xtreme primary
    count to 10 and turn the 360 on.
     
  8. shinnster

    shinnster Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It is as simple as that.I Have flashed a few ms25's and 28's this way without fail.
     
  9. nycfusion

    nycfusion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    SUCCESS!!!!!!!!!!!

    After I entered mtkflash w /m /sata x53c.bin.bin (".bin.bin is in readme of firmware 5.3) I got the same error.

    Then I restarted and tried again but this time entered mtkflash w /m /sata x53c.bin it just flashed perfectly. It didnt even give me an option to choose a drive since it just started flashing the banks instantly I didnt have to do the 10 sec method.

    That fukin typo annoyed me the whole day. 4.2 on ms25 DOES not have a firmware guard.
     
  10. ha9981

    ha9981 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it didn't give you an option to choose a drive? that is weird! try a backup game to see if it reads. second ms25 i don't think you need to do 10 second trick on that.
     
  11. nycfusion

    nycfusion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nope as soon as i entered the command it started flashing away.
    The drive and the games work.
     
  12. ha9981

    ha9981 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so u went in to dos and this thing starts randomly flashing the drive?
     

Share This Page