1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bad motherboard, power supply or something else?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by torakichi, Feb 13, 2005.

1. torakichi

torakichi Member

Hi,

I'm relatively new to the computer building world, but after struggling for a few months, I managed to put a system together that has worked pretty well for the past year. 1 week ago the power on my system died suddenly while I was working: screen shut off, fans went off, LEDs died, everything. It was just as if someone had turned off the power. So I waited a minute and turned the power back on. It seemed to power up, the lights went on, the fans went on, the CPU fan went on, the LED on the motherboard went on, but beyond that, nothing happens. It doesn't boot up, the monitor stays in powersaver mode and doesn't recognize that the computer is on. The CD Rom drive doesn't go on and I can't eject the CD in it. Nothing connected by USB appears to be powering up. Do you think this could be a power supply issue or do you think my motherboard may be fried? Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated.

2. ddp

ddp Moderator Staff Member

could be psu or motherboard, disconnect all data cables from motherboard to the drives to see if cdrom will open. check the motherboard to look at the metal upright cans which are capacitors that the tops are flat not domed as domed is not good. remove all cards except video & 1 stick of ram, reseat those & the power connector(s) to motherboard also with all cables removed from drives than power up system. post results.

3. torakichi

torakichi Member