1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bad start-ups

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Raider911, Mar 24, 2005.

  1. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i am having problems with my computer when i turn it on. it doesnt find the monitor right away. the first time every day that i turn it on, it doesnt show anything on my monitor. i have to reset one time if i have the computer off for more than a couple of hours.
     
  2. Mr_Del

    Mr_Del Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It is possible your video card is giving you trouble. If you have another you can throw in to try out please do. If on the other card it still hapens then there will be something else to look at. It could very slightly be the monitor haveing problems. Again try with a different monitor to see if the problem continues.

    -Del
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    does every thing else go thru the montions except for the videocard/monitor like the hd led lights up as does the floppy & cdrom drive
     
  4. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ya everything seems ok otherwise. it used to be worse before i went into safe mode, uninstalled my driver and then re-booted and installed a new driver. before i did that i had to reset at least 5 times and would always run into a black/green screen with symbols(ex - !@#$%^) all over it.

    ever since i uninstaled then reinstalled thye driver, it has only been forcing me to reset once and no black/green screen.

    it must have something to do with the driver but i am not sure.
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what videocard & what driver version are you using??
     
  6. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Field Value
    Video Adapter Properties
    Device Description SAPPHIRE RADEON 9000 ATLANTIS PRO
    Adapter String SAPPHIRE RADEON 9000 ATLANTIS PRO
    BIOS String BK8.0.0 VR000.000.008.000.000.001.001.000 f
    Chip Type RADEON 9000 PRO AGP (0x4966)
    DAC Type Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Installed Drivers ati2dvag (6.14.10.6497 - ATI Catalyst 4.12)
    Memory Size 64 MB

    Video Adapter Manufacturer
    Company Name Sapphire Technology Limited
    Product Information http://www.sapphiretech.com/vga/products.asp
    Driver Download http://www.sapphiretech.com/downloads/downloads.asp
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2005
  7. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Raider911

    Are you using a VGA plug or a DVI from the monitor?
     
  8. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    how would i find that out?
     
  9. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Quick answer...

    You have two ports on the back of your video card, one is smaller then the other. The smaller one is the VGA and the larger, wider one is the DVI.

    Some PC's or cards do not like to boot from the DVI on occasion, or if your Monitor has both DVI and VGA then it might need to be set to one or the other for startup also.

    I'm not saying this is your problem, but I am saying that it has been a problem on systems I've worked on before.
     
  10. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    its the vga.
     
  11. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Then for the most part this should be a non issue.
     
  12. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i tried taking out the video card before i turned the computer on today. i was having a lot of trouble getting it out and was pulling hard so i stopped trying(didnt want to make it worse).

    i put it back in but had a lot more trouble starting up today. when i did finally start-up i got this message( it looked like an advertisment) from "errorGuard".it took me to a site to download the errorguard and after i did that it scanned and said that my system contains 163 errors.

    it then tells me to register with errorguard. what would this mean?
     
  13. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Raider911

    If you graphics card is in an AGP slot, usually separate from the other PCI slots, then there is a locking tab at the bottom that either pushes away or slides down to allow you to remove the card.

    Here is what I would do to see what it might be, card or monitor.

    When everything is off, turn on just the monitor for a good while, then try to boot up and see if it boots OK.
     
  14. Raider911

    Raider911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i tried that today but still didnt get a signal until my 5th re-boot. i got the black screen with some green in it and symbols all over the screen on the 6th, 7th and 8th boot and finally got a clean boot on the 9th.

    i tried another video card today but still had the same problem with that one.

    on the first two boots on both cards, there were no beeps whatsoever. then it starts to beep on the 3rd but no signal from the monitor.
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    try a pci videocard as might be a problem with the agp slot circuit
     

Share This Page