1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Basic Necessities

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by ctbeagles, Mar 5, 2005.

1. ctbeagles

ctbeagles Guest

I am totally new to this and educating myself through all of the threads. I just got a computer (not my first, but this new one still was only intended for basics like internet, cd writing, e-mail etc.) I am not sure of the capabilities of what I have and what I would need to additionally acquire in order to backup DVDs. If someone would be willing to enlighten me a bit I would be so grateful!

2. deadcat

deadcat Regular member

well, for starters you need a dvd burner with +- capabilities. Other than that you need to give more info on what you already have:
    Cpu type and speed- faster the better
    Ram type and amount- more is good
    OS- less hassles with xp regarding file sizes
    Hard drive space- want a minimum 10gb free at all times so i wouldnt buy anything less than a 120gb drive

3. ctbeagles

ctbeagles Guest

Yeah I am just kicking myself now because I am discovering that this computer has a dvd-rom and cd-rw. I could have gotten the right dvd drive when I ordered the computer for an extra $54. I'm sure I'll have to spend more than that now if I want to upgrade it. Do you have any opinions on whether to change it internally or just get external?

4. jacsac

jacsac Regular member

What are your computer specs? You might not be up to snuff if it was built for just the basics.

5. ctbeagles

ctbeagles Guest

Oh and as to the other info:
    Pentium 4 3GHZ
    512 MB DDR-SDRAM 400 MHZ
    Windows XP
    80 GB (I have 62.8 available right now)

6. zippyd

zippyd Active member

I would dump the cd burner and get a dvd burner installed in it's place.

The RAM you have is sufficient but if you find an extra 100 bucks in your wallet some day I'd buy another stick if it's upgradeable. Or is the 512 really two 256MB sticks?