1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BENQ dvd-r (100 pack)

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by daveski, Dec 28, 2004.

1. daveski

daveski Member

my friend purchased a 100 pack of BenQ 4x Dvd-Rs from Future Shop (Canadian store only??) a few days ago. He's trying to sell me 50 dvd-rs for 20 bucks. i was wondering if these BenQ brand dvd-rs are somewhat decent, im new to the dvd burning scene. thanks

2. jamacaboi

jamacaboi Regular member

They are still available. 25 spindle for $10, 50 spindle for $19, 100 spindle for $35 and 200 pak for $60. See the link:

http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/subclass.asp?logon=&langid=EN&dept=1&catid=12501

I got a 100 spindle of both the DVD-R and DVD+R on boxing day. I did use them last summer and they are OK. I am not sure I will keep them however. If I do, I may use them for other video projects and not for my movie backups.

I can only say try not to burn too close to the edge. I would custom set the target size for the DVD at 4200. I found when burned to 4400 the DVD would not play and was full of errors when analized.

Last edited: Dec 28, 2004
  3. daveski

daveski Member

thanks alot for the info, i'll keep that in mind. i'll test one on his DVD burner and see if maybe i want to try a different type of DVD-rs or +rs. Any reccomendations?

4. jamacaboi

jamacaboi Regular member

For my movie backups I personally use Maxell. They are quality media and consistant. They are onsale all the time.

25 pak spindle on sale for $20 at FutureShop now.

http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/su...=&logon=&langid=EN&dept=0&sort=1&page=3&list=

Last week FutureShop and Best Buy in Canada had the 50 pak sindle was onsale for $30 as I purchased 2.

With these I set my custom DVD target size to 4300 and they burn just fine and play back flawlessly.