1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best CD-R Media - Revisited (yet again)

Discussion in 'CD-R(W) Media' started by jackangel, Oct 5, 2002.

1. jackangel

jackangel Member

I've read a lot about these media lately, and have a better idea of what's good and what's not, but it is a lot of information to process and I'd like to post my own specific question(s) to clarify.

I've been burning CDs for several months now, using Nero with a Sony CRX700E (firmware ver 1.4u) modular CD-RW (8X/4X/24X) in a Dell Inspiron 8000 running XP. So far, I've burned approximately 30 Audio CDs without any coasters, or any definite problems whatsoever. Of course, there may be quality issues that I'm not aware of. These are the two media I've used thus far:

Maxell CD-R 650mb (40X)
    ----------------------
    ATIP: 97m 31s 07f
    Disc Manufacturer: Ritek Co.
    Reflective layer: Dye (Short strategy; e.g. Phthalocyanine)
    Media type: CD-Recordable
    Recording Speeds: min. unknown - max. unknown
    nominal Capacity: 656.69MB (74m 45s 01f / LBA: 336226)

Sony CDQ-74CN:
    --------------
    ATIP: 97m 24s 11f
    Disc Manufacturer: Sony Corp.
    Reflective layer: Dye (Long strategy; e.g. Cyanine, Azo etc.)
    Media type: CD-Recordable
    Recording Speeds: min. unknown - max. unknown
    nominal Capacity: 656.40MB (74m 43s 00f / LBA: 336075)