1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best compression to quality - end result ratio?

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by kolakube, Mar 5, 2007.

1. kolakube

kolakube Member

Hi, Im a noob at Shrink and was wondering what the experts thought the best compression rate to quality was.

I know if you dont compress it the quality is best but the size is huge and if you compress it as far as u can its a tiny file but the quality's naff so what is the best percentage for the best of both worlds?

2. alkohol

alkohol Regular member

DVD Shrink: for large compressions needed, go with DVD Shrink's enhancement quality: DA + AEC + Max Smooth.

Nero Recode: use Recode's enhancement quality: AA + HQSR + Assign Best Quality to Main Movie, or simply use Recode's AEC changer by Solomon to Max Smooth.

Or if you want to experience further, then go with DVD-RB Pro + CCE SP 2.70 or ProCoder 2 - these 2 encoders won't disappointed you.

3. PacMan777

PacMan777 Regular member

They don't disappoint, but the entry cost may shock unless you or a close friend already have the software.

Last edited: Mar 5, 2007
  4. kolakube

kolakube Member

Thanks all thats great :]

5. PacMan777

PacMan777 Regular member

Alkohol gave you the specs on how to use the AEC settings with Shrink. I suspect you were also asking what quality to compression ratios are best. With what you have 80% (20% compressed) is where most encoder users go to those for their quality backups. Some people stretch it out to 75%. I've done movies down to 65%, but the quality starts to suffer. That's why alkohol mentioned the encoder software besides the transcoder type you're using. Rebuilder has a free version with a free supported encoder (Hank's). The trade off is more time for higher quaulity. The retail programs are faster and have nice options. A lot of people are using the retail CCE Basic and RB Pro.

6. kolakube

kolakube Member