1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

best hd for ps2 v4

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by riz, Feb 28, 2005.

  1. riz

    riz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    wats the best and cheapest compatable harddrive with a ps2 v4 ?
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2005
  2. bucs2002

    bucs2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have a v4 PS and added a maxtor ultra series 120 GB 7200 rpm HDD to it - works great!
     
  3. riz

    riz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    will a western digital hd work fine ?
     
  4. bucs2002

    bucs2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    from what i've seen and read in these forums, is that a WD will require a slight mod of your net adapter. i'm telling you - i too am a very firm believer in WD hard drives for PC's but for the PS2, i'm tellin' ya...just get a maxtor. it fits perfectly with no mods whatsoever! get either an ultra series or a diamond max plus.
     
  5. williej

    williej Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have a Seagate ... shoot, read my sig ... and it works perfect. I pulled it out of the box (it was brand new) and right into my PS2. The rest is history ...
     
  6. redhatman

    redhatman Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok, i want a hard drive for ps2, to play the online socom 2 maps, but dont you like have to format the hard drive in order for the ps2 to recognize it? Thanks
    -Pat (redhatman)
     
  7. rb5c

    rb5c Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    whats the advantages of getting a hd on your ps2?...can i rip games and play it off the harddrive?...i more of a computer guy then console so inform me why i should pull out a spare hd and put it in my ps2
     
  8. redhatman

    redhatman Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hey, in order to install a hd, you need a network adapter. You would use it for like Final Fantasy or Socom 2 maps.
     
  9. williej

    williej Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    >>>ok, i want a hard drive for ps2, to play the online socom 2 maps, but dont you like have to format the hard drive in order for the ps2 to recognize it? Thanks
    -Pat (redhatman)>>>

    In order to download Socom maps and download games saves, you will need the official Sony HDD. That's the one with Final Fantasy XI on it. You can't download maps with any other HD. Sony has made sure of that. You should only have to format it once ... and it will be able to use HD Loader/HD Advance games.

    >>>>>rb5c (Newbie) 17. March 2005 @ 17:36
    whats the advantages of getting a hd on your ps2?...can i rip games and play it off the harddrive?...i more of a computer guy then console so inform me why i should pull out a spare hd and put it in my ps2
    >>>>

    The advantages of an HD in your PS2 is numerous. Not only can you rip games, but ... you will save your optical laser on your PS2. Once the game is loaded from the HD, the laser is never used. So ... think about a game like San Andreas ... your PS2 CONSTANTLY goes back to the DVD ... and that is wear on your laser. With a HD, no wear. And ... things tend to load faster via the HD. You can rip most games with your PS2, but sometimes, if you want Dual Layer Games, you will have to use your PC. I recommend HD Advance 2.0 for any size HD. Though the claim is 40gb - 200gb, you can use something smaller, just to experiment with. I have been informed there is a hacked version of HD Loader online that allows you to use any size HD. I myself have a 300gb Seagate and I have ripped 35/36 games perfectly. One game didn't rip was hella scratched and couldn't be repaired. It's like $30 shipped, so try it ... you won't be disappointed.
     
  10. rb5c

    rb5c Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sound great...so how much am i looking to spend on everything...adapter and program...and is it a cd that i use to boot the harddrive or how does it look cause i'm interested in putting my harddrives to good use...

    also, can i swap drives at any time...basicaly i got a couple 80 gig drives sitting around...and if i fill one up with games i'd like to use another one...again i'm really interested in knowing everything before i make the jump...my cd's are getting scratched and i'm not that into chiping my system or voiding my warenty or swaping drives.

    also does it matter if its sata or ata-ide?
     
  11. williej

    williej Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Honestly, you need the online adapter (to power the HDs) and the HD Advance DVD/CD set. It should cost you no more than $30 for them. I got mine within 3 days from consolepoint.com I am positive the Sony HDD is IDE, and I don't know if Serial ATA is supported.

    Yes, you can pretty much fill up both HDs with games.

    I agree with you about scratching games and junk. I have a 1.5 year old son and likes Daddy's shiny dee-dees ...

    After you receive your HD Advance or HD Loader software, you will want to set your HD on slave or master in your PS2. Usually, slave works just fine ... until you hook it up to your PC. Then, the PS2 will only recognize it as a master or cable select. Strange ...

    Anyhow ... hook up the HD to the online adapter (newer one preferred) and power up the PS2. You will likely get disk read error on HD Advance a few times. That's cool ... then, when it finally boots up, a message will ask you if you wanna format the drive. Select yes and you are good to go.

    If you have any questions, hit me with a PM. Late, Big WILLIE J
     
  12. rb5c

    rb5c Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    cant seem to find that adapter, maybe i'm just dumb...but where can i find one?...or what is it...have a direct link?
     
  13. beltline

    beltline Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  14. rb5c

    rb5c Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yea i found that one..same place amazon...but thats for going online and stuff...what does that have to do with running your harddrive...what do i use to power and plug in my harddrive...also does the harddrive sit in the expansion bay?
     
  15. williej

    williej Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It attaches to your HD and your PS2 and powers it. There are several advantages to owning the network adapter ... it is well worth it ... you can go online with your PS2 ... you can't do it with the USBs now ... it's pretty much hit or miss.
     
  16. mtloop

    mtloop Guest

    Here is a link with some info a pictures of the install.
    http://www.i-hacked.com/content/view/107/62/

    mtloop
     

Share This Page