1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bigger xbox harddrive

Discussion in 'Xbox - General discussion' started by matty8887, May 3, 2004.

  1. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    could someone please tell me where i can buy a new xbox 80 gig harddrive from a uk website i have searched but found nothing. thanx in advance
     
  2. tart

    tart Guest

    you just need a lockable PC hdd, then you just have to put it in your xbox and let Evox format it. If you want to buy one pre-formatted then check out this link: http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=207866

    He will ship you a drive in the UK.

    Tart

    "Here's 50 bucks, take this in case I get drunk and call you a bitch later."
     
  3. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    how do i no if the harddrive is lockable or not and which drive shud i get
     
  4. **Aaron**

    **Aaron** Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    go to future shop best buy ware ever buy a hard driv and get slayer it dos every thin like locks ur hard drve
     
  5. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Would a 60gb maxtor 5400rpm work in my xbox as it only costs £35 and if so wot size must it be. thanx
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2004
  6. **Aaron**

    **Aaron** Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    as fare as i now all hard drives work but i sedgest segate or what eve its called but all hard drives should work
     
  7. matty8887

    matty8887 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So are all pc hard drives unlockable and will they all fit into my xbox. thanx
     
  8. **Aaron**

    **Aaron** Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    im not sher
    but as i said segate i think would be the best and i dont think they wold make diffrent sizes for diffrent gigs right ?
     
  9. mr_nasty

    mr_nasty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Mostly all new HDD are the same size now a days. I dont think it should be a problem.
     
  10. yankeered

    yankeered Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    maxtors work fine
    wd work fine
    seagate works fine
    just get the biggest pc harddrive you can afford
    ive got a max 120 and max 160 but... i would really like a 250. after 14 gigs of songs and 62 xbox games its almost full, and i dont play any of them.just want it all, kids like it
     
  11. ShadowNyt

    ShadowNyt Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Check on this page - near the bottom there is a link to a page that lists all lockable drives and what was used to lock them, western digital seems to have always worked well for me

    http://www.cyber-mag.com/station/xbox.htm
     
  12. yankeered

    yankeered Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you only need a locked drive for xbox live
     
  13. ShadowNyt

    ShadowNyt Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    And if you run with the chip disabled - if you disable a chip with the drive not locked or attempt to run the MS dash to set the time you will end up with the return for service message.

    Plus locking it is so easy you might as well do so - whether you use live or not.
     
  14. yankeered

    yankeered Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    why would you disable your chip?
     
  15. ShadowNyt

    ShadowNyt Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    why would people do a lot of things?? no idea - but people like to feel nostalgic and boot normal mode every now and again with their originals...

    obviously if using Xbox live you have no choice you have to disable the chip.
     
  16. yankeered

    yankeered Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    okie dokie
     
  17. **Aaron**

    **Aaron** Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well as he said people like the original but thats not relly why its becouse if u go on xbox live with that you will get banned and will nerver be able to go on xboxlive that xbox and i heard but dont know i heard it flashes your chip so thats why
     

Share This Page