1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

.BIN / .CUE / .ISO Frequently asked questions. READ1ST

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by cd-rw.org, Sep 23, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. noobyes

    noobyes Guest

    Well, I used Alchohol 120% to burn my PSX backup. It seemed that when I opened the D: Folder, there wasn't an image or any visable data, it did say however it had used up 500-somewhat MB of the CD.

    I am trying to make a Legend of Mana backup, and I followed the steps in the step-by-step guide Shoey posted on another thread. I mounted the .CUE file (This is the image file I am using to burn) in Alcohol 120%, and then scanned it with ClonyXX. In the CD type it said something about Lybcrypt.

    Now I went to Mega Games.com and I looked at the Lybcrypt explanation, and it didn't seem very useful for my experience. Would anyone like to give me a dummies explanation of Lybcrypt, and possibly any methods of bypassing this.
     
  2. mc_line

    mc_line Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah, I was trying to burn an evox for the xbox file, and i just found out out that the xbox's files are not compatible with computer's that's why i could not see any data on the CD after having burn the iso file
     
  3. Cold_Him

    Cold_Him Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey everyone,
    I just needed to know something about the .BIN and .CUE sheet thing. I followed the guide correctly (Making sure that I put Mode2 in the CUE sheet files because it was for a PSX game), but I still cannot get the game to work on my PSX. Does it need to be chipped?
     
  4. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    These PS2/XBOX questions should probably be dealt with down in the PS2/XBOX section .... this section is more for PC-type CDs :)

    The PS2/XBOX people will be much more able to help you :)
     
  5. Drez143

    Drez143 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, I dont know if this was answered, but this is driving me up the wall, I pissed away a lot of blanks on trying to make .bin files into cds. I have the .cue files, and all seems to be fine while burning the cds, but after its complete and I put it back into the cd drive to read the cd, it comes up blank, when if you look at the cd it was written on. What am I doing wrong? I used Nero and Alcohol to burn them, and I use Isobuster aswell. Also, is there a program that converts .bin files to .iso files right on the HD? I tried doing that with Isobuster, and it only converted the .bin file to a .tao file, which I have no idea what to do with. Thank you for your time.
     
  6. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Try burning using the BIN files rather than the CUE files :)

    WinISO and UltraISO will do it.
     
  7. Drez143

    Drez143 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried to burn the .bin file right to the cd aswell, and Nero gives me an error, but Alcohol can burn it, yet the same problem comes up, the cd can not be read. I also downloaded UltraISO to try to open the .bin file, and it just gives me a "Iso 9660 Volume not found"
     
  8. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well try re-ripping the BIN, maybe you messed something up during the initial ripping process. Use the MDF/MDS format from A120... it does a good job.
     
  9. elainc33

    elainc33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi, I have a simple question that only requires a yes or no, if I am lucky hopefully a yes with some instructions. I have two 1500MB approx. movie files, each split into two cd's. They were rar which I converted to bin and cue and burned with Nero. They play fine in pc and on a KISS dvd/divx standalone player but not on an ordinary dvd player. The question is, is it possible to put them on a cd, or dvd whatever that will play in your every day dvd player!!! Nobody seems to know, they just crack on about, bins, cues, iso's, Alcohol whatever percent but never seem able to answer this question.Someone please tell me!!!
     
  10. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    It is not possible to have absolute universal playback on any arbitrary standlaone player. Some options:
    - Encode to DVD: most likely chance of theoretical success however you get gutted if the standalone doesnt support DVD+R or DVD-R
    - Encode to VCD: another very good chance of success however you give up quality for nearly virtual compatibility
    - Encode to SVCD: higher quality than VCD and almost accepted everywhere -- but not quite
    - AVI: low chance of success because of the limited number of MPEG4 capable players out there
     
  11. elainc33

    elainc33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for info. Sorry I am so dim - I have only ever been involved with avi and mpeg, apart from one mkv, that I could never convert - so when I burned bin and cue for the first time onto cd and put the cd into Sony player, came up cannot play, assumed that was that, also someone told me you can only play bin and cue mostly on computer, I thought I would not bother any more (it did play on KISS dvd/dvix standalone however - but my friends dont have this player) anyway last night put another disc in Sony and it played, also the original disc that said "cannot play" played fine, so was a temporary blip with Sony, but the reason I feel so stupid is because I hadnt realised I was producing vcd, which of course play in most players!!! Doh!!!! So thank you for telling me I was making vcd's.
     
  12. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Glad I could help! :)
     
  13. geo18

    geo18 Guest

    Hi everyone!

    This is one of the best threads I have come across on this subject- keep up the good work!

    My problem is this:

    I downloaded a file in .rar format, and inside was a .bin image file (ie without a .cue). I extracted it and, since I do not want to burn it, opened it with Isobuster.

    All I got was 'Track 01', like you'd would get on a coaster. I extracted it again (ie out of Isobuster), using all different kinds of extraction modes (user data, RAW, RAW to User data, etc).

    With the .tao file, I got an error in one of the sectors, and had to overwrite it with zeroes.

    none of the conversions produced anything more than 'Track 01', without any access to the file systems of the data.

    At this point, reading a lot of what went before on this thread, I downloaded winiso and tried to convert it from a bin to an iso- got the error: 'not a supported image format'.

    Went back and, using the info on your page, wrote a cue for it and tried to mount it using D-Tools. The .cue was mounted but the disk was inaccessible, and actually crashed explorer a couple of times.

    When I tried to mount the bin directly, I was told it was an 'invalid image format'.

    At this point I began to suspect that a) the file was corrupt (which seems probable) or b) wasn't an ordinary .bin file and needed to be opened by more unorthodox means.

    Downloaded a little program called 'WhatFormat', which told me the file was a mac .bin (binair) or smth. But I have my doubts about the abilities of this program, though it seems ok.

    I have gone through this thread with a fine tooth comb and seem to have exhausted all possibilities but that the file is somehow corrupt-

    so, can anybody help me?

    I cannot tell you how great it would be if they could, since normally I am able to overcome most problems with a bit of detective work and experimentation, but this is driving me crazy!

    cheers

    geo18

    ps downloaded it with Shareaza, if that is any help, though I doubt it is relevant. Normally I would contact the (many sources) from which I acquired the game, since if so many people have the same file, it cannot be completely dud, can it? Unfortunately, shareaza does not seem to have this capacity (unlike Kazaa).
     
  14. elainc33

    elainc33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Geo18 - Sorry I cant help you with your missing cue. Why dont you bin it, pardon the pun, and start again, look for the same file somewhere a bit more reputable like suprnova.org - if you got it from shareaza, you're lucky it wasnt a disguised porn file!!!
     
  15. Clashcity

    Clashcity Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi Everyone,

    Before I ask my ? I wanted to say this place is awesome and I use it frequntly to great results.

    I've spent the last hour going through almost every page of this thread but I just can't find the answer which obviously deals w/.bin files.

    I have 2 .bin files both w/their cue and I want to burn them to cd-r, I own Roxio 6 and everyone keeps mentioning to burn it as an image. Now let me explain exactly what I'm doing, I go into roxio and from the of list options -- "disc copier, audio central, etc..."
    I go to "dvd builder" when I try and "File - Burn Image." as it's been suggested what I find is "burn disc from image file" and from there I don't have the option to choose either the cue or bin. So what should I do? A little help would be very much appreciated.
    Thanks.
     
  16. TTwist

    TTwist Guest

    You know I think there would'nt be so many questions on this if people who were offering these files for download just put a small readme file saying, use daemon tools to mount it or burn it to a cd etc. This is how I found out how to use these filetypes and these files are really quite simple and I think most people would understand from this as well.
    Also I dont know if anyone else has mentioned this but I got a file where the cue files were corrupted but I found renaming the bin file extensions to .iso allowed them to be mounted by daemontools if anyone else has this problem.
     
  17. TTwist

    TTwist Guest

    Oops sorry to double-post but I see someone did have the problem of missing/corrupt cue file(I was a bit overwhelmed by the 20 pages of posts so I skipped through).

    Try renaming the soandso.bin file to soandso.iso then mount it with daemon tools, I dont know how this would work with any other program or burning to cd.
     
  18. Kingd

    Kingd Guest

    Clashcity: Good question. My question is why would you go to DvD builder to burn an image for a CD-R? Or is this how it's done with Easy CD creator (I use Blindwrite for bin/cue's). If i had to take an educated guess, i would say that the reason you can't choose the bin/cue file from the DvD builder is because it's looking for a DvD image and not a Cd-R image? Perhaps someone can educate me as well as i'm not all that familiar with Easy cd creator, thanks.
     
  19. elainc33

    elainc33 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Clashcity.
    If you open Roxio Easy CD Creator (not DVD builder or any of the other options) Then go to File you will see "Record Disc from Image" in the list of options. Then the box opens which will accept iso, etc. so browse for your bin and cues and I am sure this will work. I havent used this before and if I had any bin and cues, would have done a dummy run for you. I only occasionally have these types of files and use Nero (which I dont much like, nor does my computer and it conflicts with Roxio) but the next time I will try the Roxio as I never even thought to use it until I saw your question.
     
  20. Clashcity

    Clashcity Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Everybody,

    Thanks for the tips.
    Elainc33,
    I see what you're saying but now when I go to "record disc from image" It's not an available as an option, it's grayed out and I'm getting these weird error messages. I got get this fixed but at least I know what to do now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page