1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bitcomet and Vista

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by coolbrz, Mar 30, 2007.

  1. coolbrz

    coolbrz Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I can't get Bitcomet to download through Vista! I am using version 0.85 and it says it's compatable. My firewall has it as an exception so it's not that. Any suggestions?
     
  2. The_Fiend

    The_Fiend Guest

    Dump Vista.
    You're one of many folks finding out Vista blocks a LOT of P2P applications.
    Gotta love that DRM huh ?
     
  3. coolbrz

    coolbrz Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't get it! There has to be a way around it..right?
     
  4. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    there probably is, but most people don't think it's worth it.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. orngcrsh

    orngcrsh Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    utorrent

    its worked w/out a problem on my vista notebook
    ..and he wasn't asking for advise which OS to go with.. he was looking for a fix for his problem.
     
  6. orngcrsh

    orngcrsh Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    utorrent

    its worked w/out a problem on my vista notebook
    ..and he wasn't asking for advise which OS to go with.. he was looking for a fix for his problem.
     
  7. The_Fiend

    The_Fiend Guest

    ..And since there is no fix, this is the soundest advice we can offer.
    ¾ of the techies here, including myself, have refused to learn the ropes with Vista, so the chances of getting an answer here is small enough, if it wasn't for the fact that on most systems, Vista causes problems with P2P software.
     
  8. orngcrsh

    orngcrsh Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what i was pointing out was that this person was looking for advise on torrent programs.. chances are that they are not going to be able to just "dump vista" and get a copy of xp... let alone, install it on their current system.
    you guys aren't helping the issue at all by the advise you're offering. the reason i say something is that it's getting increasingly frustrating looking through boards like this one and seeing people use that same response to such a broad range of questions. Every time someone has some kind of problem, its used as a bashing grounds for vista (and i am BY NO MEANS suggesting that vista is better than xp, just pointing out that "dumping vista" is not usually a viable option.

    joe
     
  9. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    if you can't go back to XP, then it's time to move along to a Linux distro. Vista is a mistake, plain and simple.
     
  10. orngcrsh

    orngcrsh Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ha ha...
     
  11. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    the best overal advice is to get rid of Vista. if that's not possible, then the person needing help needs to go to a forum that actually takes the time to work with Vista and all it's problems. no one here has that time to waste.

    and thanks for that completely pointless post.
     
  12. coolbrz

    coolbrz Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I could easily go back to XP if I wanted but since sooner or later everything will go to Vista, I might as well find the solutions now and if not now, there will be soon. The only problem with Vista is simple...not all programs support it but they will sooner or later. I will try utorrent.
     
  13. Auslander

    Auslander Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    sorry, coolbrz, but that's simply not true. there are linux and mac alternatives for everything Windows except games, and games are generally not what drive the business world. also, microsoft has the next OS slated to come out in 2009. more people will still be running XP than Vista then, at the current rate.
     
  14. coolbrz

    coolbrz Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Installed uTorrent it works perfectly! See, there is always a way around things especially when you are working with new things like Vista. Saying dump and get rid of Vista is weak! Vista is the future so get used to it and don't be lazy! LOL!!
     
  15. The_Fiend

    The_Fiend Guest

    I'm thinking of an 8 letter word here, anyone care to guess ?
    Auslander ? ;-)
     
  16. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    68
    /me got it in one!
     
  17. doggytx

    doggytx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    can u tell me how u got utorrent to work w/vista i have it on desktop 32bit home premium firewall off port open open to some places not all u/l very slow
     
  18. orngcrsh

    orngcrsh Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    to be honest, I just installed the one i already had in my documents folder and it happened to work.
     
  19. mewho

    mewho Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I use vista home basic and I am using nero newest Version np
    also use bitcomet had to switch to an older version but works work with that ...ps vista is a pain in the @ss
     
  20. doggytx

    doggytx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Az works great gotta love vista
     

Share This Page