1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bitcomet slow download

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by x2k1, Oct 17, 2007.

  1. x2k1

    x2k1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    HI!

    umm i use bitcomet 0.61 and i have a linksys wrt54gs wireless router and i went to the portforwarding site and followed instructions and I'm still downloading at 0 kb/s i used to use bitlord and it was the same thing,and in the bottom of bitcomet it says dht not conected...what should i do??
     
  2. x2k1

    x2k1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    and btw i am a super noob at this
     
  3. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I would suggest a different bittorrent client as both of those are generally banned by private sites and individuals. Torrentwiki Banned Clients.

    Probably best to try uTorrent. uTorrent Download
    You need to clear any bittorrent client through your software firewall as well as your router.
    This is a guide for your router portforward linksys WRT54GS & uTorrent
    These are some firewall guides Portforwarding.com Firewalls

    Also you should choose a port in the 49152 to 65534 range. Port is Blacklisted

    Setup of uTorrent is easy. The Options/Speed Guide function has a link to speed tests and allows quick setting of uTorrent options to their optimum through a pull down menu of common upload speeds.

    Your ISP (Internet Service Provider) may also be blocking or shaping. Check Bad ISPs
     
  4. x2k1

    x2k1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok thanks ill use it now
     
  5. x2k1

    x2k1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    opening ports always confuses me..sorry for asking but how do i open them? it keeps telling me that they are closed.
     
  6. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    A port being closed will either be about your router, software firewall or ISP.
    There is no better guide on the router than the portforward one.
    Have you gone through the procedure at the guide?
    Have you cleared uTorrent through your software firewall?
    Are you using a port in the 49152-65534 range?
    Did you check you to see if your ISP is one of the bad?
     
  7. x2k1

    x2k1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    been there alot of timesand have a static ip so yes
    yes
    not sure
    dominican republic wasnt on the list :/
     
  8. x2k1

    x2k1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    like around 50/170 peers an the download is around 25 kb/s for me is a big improvement compared to 0 kb/s (ew)..still the ports are not open and yes its between the range
     
  9. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think you are indicating that you are not sure of the port you are using.
    If this is so, then you have not forwarded the port for uTorrent through your router as you would have to have a port number to do this.
    Setting up a static IP is not the same as forwarding the port.

    go to Options/Preferences/Connection and enter a suggested port number in the box and untick the other options, as shown in this image, and press OK:
    [​IMG]

    You then need to go and follow the procedure set forth in the guide for your router and uTorrent linked in my post above.
     
  10. x2k1

    x2k1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    is 61630 is already forwarded to my router and is in utorrent
     
  11. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just saw the message about you getting some speed.
    Must have gone up while I was posting the other.
    So that is at least better.

    Since you have the port forwarded through your router and uTorrent forwarded through your software firewall go to Options/Speed Guide.
    There are a couple things you can do there.
    You can adjust your uTorrent options to their optimal by taking the speed test linked through there and then choosing your the amount closest to your upload speed off the pulldown menu next to Connection Type(which shows speeds in kilobits).
    If you have questions, then post your speed test results here, in kilobits "b" or kilobytes "B".

    You can also check to see if your port is forwarded properly.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2007
  12. x2k1

    x2k1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    279 Kb/s down and 79 Kb/s up with 134 ms lantency
     
  13. x2k1

    x2k1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    they are bytes
     
  14. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Are you sure they are kilobytes (kBs), as 8bs = 1B.
    Do you know what your advertised speed from your ISP is?

    If they are bytes, then the 79kBs = 632kbs and you would use the xx640k on the pulldown menu.
    If they are bits then you could use the xx96.
    So best to make sure as that is a big difference.

    What happened on the port test in the speed guide?
     
  15. x2k1

    x2k1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i said bytes cause they are kiloBYTES i forgot to say that thats why i said bytes
     
  16. x2k1

    x2k1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i did the speed test and thats what they gave me
     
  17. x2k1

    x2k1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    omg im sorry it is kilo bit.... wow whats wrong with me today..-___-
     
  18. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just to make sure I was not pointing out the kilo part, but the bits "b" or bytes "B".

    OK, I just saw you post that it is bits.
    Use the xx96 on the pulldown menu.

    There is also a Test if port is forwarded properly button on the speed guide page.
    Did you test your uTorrent port (61630) with this?
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2007
  19. jeffw224

    jeffw224 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    BTW the 25 you are seeing in uTorrent is bytes (25kBs) and that is 200kbs, which is very close to your max and very good for your connection.

    So you may not need to mess with things any further.
     
  20. x2k1

    x2k1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes and it said that its not open
     

Share This Page