1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Black screen after windows loads

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by yaibal, Apr 27, 2007.

  1. yaibal

    yaibal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey, im quite new here and i do not have that special skills in using computers. My pc is Dell Optiplex Gx-60 with Windows Professional XP SP2.

    First of all.. I had a virus on my computer called DriveCleaner. I needed to boot to safe mode to use a program called smitfraudfix to remove it. I tried to boot and it loads SPTD.sys and then it just stays there and up in the left corner there is a mark like this _ flashing all the time but nothing happens. Same thing happens if i try to boot normally to windows. I tried using the windows install cd but it just stops to the part "Looking previous windows installitions" or something..

    Im in a really sticky situation right now. Could anyone help? The problem is not with my video card, thats for sure.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2007
  2. borhan9

    borhan9 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    You maybe at the time in looking at formating your computer clean and starting from scratch.
     
  3. yaibal

    yaibal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Look, it just crashes when i try to format with the windows cd
     
  4. borhan9

    borhan9 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Well then use a floppy and format your computer with a floppy boot disk. Then try boot from the CD again.
     
  5. yaibal

    yaibal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Bios is password protected and i have forgotten the password. i cant set up bios to boot from floppy
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2007
  6. borhan9

    borhan9 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    The only way to get around that is to remove the bios battery and leave it out for a day. Make sure when you take it out you make sure everything is turned off and everything is disconnected even from the power and case wires as in the keyboard and mouse connections etc...
     
  7. yaibal

    yaibal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Okay, i found the password jumper. i removed it and managed to setup floppy boot. I deleted the windows partition with fdisk. Then i managed to install windows again :)!
     
  8. borhan9

    borhan9 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Kewl glad to see everything worked out in the end. :)
     
  9. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    68
    @yaibal: Glad things worked out.


    (Ripper from IRC channel) ;-)
     

Share This Page