1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blu-Ray 3D on 20GB Unit?

Discussion in 'PS3' started by RVGirl, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. RVGirl

    RVGirl Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have a used 20gb ps3 fat upgraded to 80gb that is runing latest oficial firmware. can it play 3d blurays or will i have to buy me a new ps3???
     
  2. Oner

    Oner Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    All PS3's have the ability to play 3D movies if on the proper firmware, seeing you are on the latest OFM you are fine.
     
  3. RVGirl

    RVGirl Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    awsome ty i just want shure if it neede a new hdmi 1.4a port or not. so all i have to do is get me a cabe and 3d tv

    Alice
     
  4. KillerBug

    KillerBug Active member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The port inside the PS3 is HDMI 1.4 and has been since firmware 3.41 I think.
     
  5. RVGirl

    RVGirl Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i thaught was a phisical difrence in the older fat sytem from newer slim ones dint know was software based in firmware updates
     
  6. KillerBug

    KillerBug Active member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The only physical difference between HDMI 1.3 and 1.4 is the cable, and even there, the specs overlap for everything that actually matters. If you have an HDMI 1.3 device that is capable of receiving firmware updates, it could be upgraded to 1.4 if the manufacturer bothered to add it to a firmware binary.

    Personally, I refuse to buy a new screen. My current monitor is HDMI 1.3, but it does 3D just fine at 720P using the nVidia kit (HDMI 1.4 is only needed for 1080P 3D). The PS3 only does 3D in 720P; it does not have the power to do 1080P 3D...so there is absolutely no use for HDMI 1.4...yet Sony requires you to have an HDMI 1.4 screen in order to enable 3D just because it sells 3D TVs to people who already own 3D TVs.

    If you do get a screen, don't buy one from Sony...they are a bunch of con artists who are blocking countless users from using 3D on the off chance that they might buy a TV from Sony. Everything Sony touches just stinks of gouging the customer, and I know I'm not the only one who is sick of it.
     
  7. bigo93

    bigo93 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    1.4 ports also support an ethernet connection and "audio return lines", whatever that is and does. But for 3D blurays the 1.3 port on all ps3s are compatible thanks to the software update as said above.
     
  8. RVGirl

    RVGirl Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    awsome good news :)
     

Share This Page