1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boot CD (multi-elf) and FTP Question

Discussion in 'PS2' started by domino82, Apr 10, 2005.

1. domino82

domino82 Member

I'm a modding noob, but I've done my homework. Call me dumb or whatever, but I just can't seem to resolve a few issues.

Here's my gear:
    PS2 with DMS4 EZI Lite
    120 GB Maxtor HDD
    Network/Modem adaptor
    (all functional)
    Toxic Bios 1.3

I'm able to boot backups fine (even on DVD+R media burned at 4X believe it or not), but here's my problem:

I can't seem to find instructions on creating a boot CD. I read a lot about ELFs, understand that you need LaunchELF to use them, etc. but I can't find a simple step-by-step guide on creating a boot CD to launch a number of ELFs and achieve what I'm looking to do...

The closest I've found is Stinky's CD. Stinky's is okay but his launcher gives an error when trying to save LaunchELF settings to MC (good MC, plenty of space) and when I launch FAPlink from his CD the screen scrolls vertically very fast and I'm unclear into what directory I should put ipconfig.dat.

[bold]This is what I want to be able to do:[/bold]
    1) Run backups (I can already do this)

2) Make a bootdisc that allows me to backup to HDD (using HDLoader/Advance) and saves my settings to MC (can sort of do this with Stinky's except for the MC part)

3) On that bootdisk, have a copy of whichever ELF best allows me to FTP an ISO image to my PS2 HDD for play with HDLoader, with an explanation of how to FTP the system.

4) Hopefully, using either methods 2 or 3, be able to finally backup and play GT4 and GoW from HDD. (I can use DVD Decrypter to get an ISO for GT4, and want to upload it to PS2 via FTP. And I believe there's a patch out there to allow HDLoader to work with GoW.)

I hope this makes sense to somebody and I hope they can give me a step-by-step on how to create such a CD (keep in mind I'm a noob).