1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

boot problem

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by conny119, Aug 9, 2004.

  1. conny119

    conny119 Guest

    i don't know if any1 can help me here put i'll post it. when i boot up my PC it flashes the motherboard info like normal but then WINXP doesn't load it's just a black screen with a white dash flashing. hope some1 can help me.
     
  2. cozza1987

    cozza1987 Guest

    More info...

    Computer Specs?
    How old is the comptuer ?
    How long has it been doing it ?
    What where you doing before it happened ?
    Does it do it all the time ?
    Is there any error beeps ?

    Regards
    CoZZa
     
  3. conny119

    conny119 Guest

    computer specs: AMD athlon 2200+
    512 MB RAM
    GForceMX 440
    60 GB HDD excelStor 7200RPM
    Syntax SV266A MOBO with VIA KT266A chipset

    i have this PC since XMAS.
    it's been doing this for about a week.
    my mam was on last before is started to do this. she said she just put it on stand by.
    it does this 80% of the time. other times it just comes up the MOBo info and stays there.
    and i have had some beeps when i switch it on but wen it beeps nothing comes on the screen.
    thx cozza
     
  4. cozza1987

    cozza1987 Guest

    What beeps do you get?

    When it goes through detecting hardware, does it find your Hard Drive ?

    Since the comptuer should still be under warranty, i would take it back to them and get them to have a look.

    Seems like there is a hardware problem, if it sometimes doesnt get past the POST.

    Turn it on and write down the beeps, how many, if they are short or long.

    Regards
    CoZZa
     
  5. conny119

    conny119 Guest

    my computer doesn't show what hadrware it has when i load it, even when it was working. when my computer beeps they are fairly long and there is a space between them of about 3 seconds. i've tried a different HDD from a old computer but still the same problems, could it be because of the IDE connectors to the HDD?
     
  6. hogan

    hogan Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Pay close attention to the beeps. The computer is trying to tell you what is wrong. How many beeps, long ,short, keep track..
     
  7. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    MS has a fix for some fairly serious Standby-related problem, have a lookie just in case.

    And what happens the other 20%? Everything runs perfectly normal? :)
     
  8. conny119

    conny119 Guest

    deosn't matter i fixed it, my dumbass cousin messed my BIOS. so i just removed the mobo battery for 30secs which reset my BIOS back to the original setting
    thanks for the help tho
     
  9. conny119

    conny119 Guest

    @ Praetor does your AMD 2500 run OK as a 3200.
     
  10. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Glad you got it workin!

    Oh and yes it runs fine at 2.2Ghz (XP3200) ... right now it's actually clocked at 2.4Ghz and the memory at PC4000 ... still waiting a couple days before i press it more :)
     
  11. conny119

    conny119 Guest

    fusk me praetor thats sum serious overclocking.
     

Share This Page