1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bottom line: Memorex DVD+R an "ok" media?

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by Newfee, Aug 26, 2004.

  1. Newfee

    Newfee Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just don't want to waste all my time backing up on this media if it's not worth it. I bought these disk without researching (I've researched now) and I'm stuck with it. I've backed up a few movies, all with no errors on it. I have RICOH disks and I now know the packing differences. From what I get, Memorex is hit and miss with who makes the disk, but if I stick with RICOH will I be safe? Also, should I use DVD-R which I think is more compatible with more players,eg, PS2, older standalones and newer standalones? Thanks guys.
     
  2. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    As long as the media code is ricoh you should not have any problems. I prefer +r media because I have a f/w patch that allows me to booktype my rips/burns to dvd-rom therefor making them compatable w/ almost any dvd player.
     
  3. Newfee

    Newfee Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    f/w patch? I'm new to the terms, but I'm assuming firmware? So why does everyone seem to say that DVD-R is so much better than DVD+R? And if I can tell by the package which Memorex's are RICOH should I be ok with DVD+R from now on? I just don't want to spend lots of money on other brands and they end up not working.
     
  4. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    A couple good places to shop for media is meritline and newegg. If you are haveing good luck with a particular media I would stay with it. Be wary of memorex you got lucky and got ricoh. The batch I got was cmc (junk). Besides they are pretty pricy. I just got a 100 pk ritek dvd+r (media code ricohjpn01 002) from newegg for $43 with a $10 mail in rebate so actually $33 and .99 fedex shipping. 34 cents a disc for excellent media. Shop around and watch for specials. Dvd-r may be more compatable in older dvd players unless you can set the booktype to dvd-rom. Then +r is more compatable.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]AMD Athlon Thunderbird 1.33 Ghz 512 MB PC133 Ram
    Lite-On LDW-832S f/w VS0B DVDRW
    Win XP Nero 6.3.1.20
    DVDXCopy Xpress 3.2.1 DVD Decryptor/DVD Shrink 3.2
    I know not too impressive saving my money[/small]
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2004
  5. Newfee

    Newfee Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    How do you change the booktype? Thanks.
     
  6. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Answered in your other post.
     
  7. GIJohn

    GIJohn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I use strictly DVD+R's and +RW's (only thing my laptop dvd burner writes, thanks a lot HP...) and use my ps2 to test them and I have never had a problem. Using a PS2 as a test mule is great because it is very finicky when it comes to reading different formats and it is also very very sensitive to scratches or what-not.
     
  8. Newfee

    Newfee Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Mort: Are those US or CDN prices?
     
  9. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Newfee
    Those are US.
     
  10. Newfee

    Newfee Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    One more question...is Ritek the same as Ridata?
     
  11. jim_dandy

    jim_dandy Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    yes ridata are riteks
     

Share This Page