1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bricked psp???

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by biggzi, Mar 4, 2007.

  1. biggzi

    biggzi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have looked around forums but i havn't found anyone with the same problem.

    My psp will charge and power up, but as soon as the screen says "Sony Computer Entertainment" it freezes and shuts down about 10 seconds later. I have tried replacing the battery and the memory card but the same thing still happens. Have I bricked my psp ?!?
     
  2. balkie16

    balkie16 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    are u running custom firmware? did this happen after u tried messing with flash0? i think its a semi brick
     
  3. biggzi

    biggzi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was running 3.10 AE and it happened when I was trying to use custom XMB waves. Most of them worked, but i had renamed one and that is the one that made my psp start doing this.
     
  4. The_Arc

    The_Arc Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Easy to fix mate, find a untouched, stock XMB wave and flash it to Flash0. If you need one i can post mine
     
  5. biggzi

    biggzi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    but how can i flash it if my psp won't work???

    p.s. sorry if that is a noobish question.
     
  6. The_Arc

    The_Arc Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hold "R" when powering on, go to "advanced" turn on flash0

    Thats the beauty of OE, its nigh-on unbrickable :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2007
  7. biggzi

    biggzi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok, and can you post that XMB wave please?
     
  8. The_Arc

    The_Arc Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Im on it, 2 secs...
     
  9. The_Arc

    The_Arc Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2007
  10. biggzi

    biggzi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    when i turn flash0 on it only lasts for about 10 seconds then turns off, and it doesnt connect to my pc.
     
  11. The_Arc

    The_Arc Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The recovery mode exits after 10 seconds or it disconnects?

     
  12. biggzi

    biggzi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    my psp turns off after 10 seconds
     
  13. The_Arc

    The_Arc Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ouch...

    Hmmmm the only thing i can think of is plugging it into the mains? The recovery menu doesn't access the XMB, so it cant be due to your BG editing.

    Other than that just try to be really quick? I know it sounds daft but if it does connect after a few attempts, just try and get it on very quickly.

    Other than that im stumped mate
     
  14. biggzi

    biggzi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    it is plugged into the mains, but i will keep tryin. So i go to advanced, toggle flash0, and then it should connect to my pc yeah??
     
  15. The_Arc

    The_Arc Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thats right, it should come up as a regular removable hard drive, the file "system_plugin_bg.rco" goes in \VSH\Resource
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2007
  16. biggzi

    biggzi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    k, thanks.

    It hasn't worked yet, but im gonna keep trying.

    thanks for the help mate, much appreciated.
     
  17. The_Arc

    The_Arc Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Its alright mate sorry i could't be more useful, but ive not heard of a psp shutting off when in recovery mode before.

    Let me know if you fix it!
     
  18. biggzi

    biggzi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    IT WORKS!!!!!!

    Thanks so much, you've saved me a lot of money, you're my hero!lol
     
  19. The_Arc

    The_Arc Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Wooooooo! :)

    Hey thats what we're here for :)
     
  20. logan19k

    logan19k Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok. i had a custom firmware and customs icons but i wanted to go back to the orignal and so i download this ifle orignal flasho and flash1 3.03oec but that semi bricked my psp. so i tried to copy flash0 n flash1 files from my friends psp to mine. we both had 3.03oec. any help
     

Share This Page