1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Broken Pin AMD 64 3000+

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by tomstop, Oct 22, 2004.

  1. tomstop

    tomstop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I broke a pin when I installed my new cpu. I know some of the pins on these processors are unassigned and do nothing. How can I either fix the broken pin or find out if it does anything.
     
  2. tomstop

    tomstop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey I forgot to mention it is an amd 64 3000+
     
  3. tomstop

    tomstop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It is a 754 socket. Hey I will get it right soon.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    how are you at soldering small things. me , i'd be able to fix it as that was my thing working at Celestica working on computer boards & cell Nokia cell phones with components 1mm across. i even do it now for my computer customers
     
  5. tomstop

    tomstop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Its a very tiny pin. I don't think I could do it. Besides I do not have a soldering iron that could even come close to getting in there.
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    you have 4 choices then 1:take it to an electronic technician to fix it, 2:take it to a jeweller as they solder small things as it has gold on the pins, 3:plug it in & cross your fingers, eyes & toes that works & not blow up, 4:buy new processor & scrap that one
     
  7. tomstop

    tomstop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Someone knows what those pins do. I know which one is broked.
     
  8. The_OGS

    The_OGS Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Well there are 754 pins...
    And, you still have four choices, right?
    That's a nice CPU ($225 bucks Canadian)
    Hope you can sort it out. All the technical info will be available somewhere on AMD's website.
    The Socket 754 is a standard, so all the pin info is common knowledge for the mobo manufacturers.
    Personally, I like the Jeweler idea :)
    Those pins are quite stout, for the tiny signals that run through them...
    The repair should work perfectly, and would be undetectable.
    Good Luck
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]

    ABIT AN7 nForce2 Ultra 400
    XP2500+ Barton @ 3200+
    2 x 512MB PC3200[/small]
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2004
  9. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    That wouldn't be the one in Longton perhaps...?
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    baabaa, nope head plant in toronto, ontario, canada. worked on nokia cellphones, sun microsystems & cisco systems. was there 4yrs 5months
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    tomstop, just got off the phone with a friend who i told about your broken pin, he says that cpu is made differently from previous chips(glue instead of solder), it has something like 3 yr warranty. contact amd california for possible warranty replacement as long as you still have the original packaging
     
  12. tomstop

    tomstop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I will certainly give that a try. What more do you know about the glue thing? I have been looking up jewelry repair in the Yellow pages. Thanks for your help.
     
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    when the pin broke off, did break & left a stump or did it come of like a tree & root ball. if the 1st then solder will work but not glue, if the 2nd than conductive glue like used to fix rear de-foggers on cars can be used if there is a trace wire to were pin sits. if no trace wire to pin but a blank pin use crasy glue
     
  14. tomstop

    tomstop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The pin is gone but it does have the stump.
     
  15. tomstop

    tomstop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  16. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    did you get info on what pin does yet & if did what is verdict
     
  17. tomstop

    tomstop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Pin is AJ10 listed as MEMDATA9. I think I am SOL.
     
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    sorry, try the warranty & see what happens but also check with jeweller for possible fix. if you had been closeby i might have been able to fix
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2004
  19. tomstop

    tomstop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I appreciate all your help. Thanks again. Back to the yellow pages for jewelers.
     

Share This Page