1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Broken Pin AMD 64 3400+

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by county, Jan 5, 2005.

  1. county

    county Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all,
    well, i came to this forum by reading the thread of a broken pin for AMD 3000+ and i saw some very good suggestions. i am looking for some more help as you can by know tell that i have a AMD processor with broken pins (two) and they are essential pins. Both pins came out without leave a trace behind. so...
    1. Is it possible to fix these?
    2. I dont have the pins with me... can i used something else in place..
    3. Will the crazy glue trick work...

    pleaseeeeeeeeee help

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    see if what functions those 2 pins do first
     
  3. county

    county Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am not sure what functions these pins do ( i guess i dont how to look up in the technical document :)..) I tried without the pin and the MB failed to boot. thent i tried with inserting a small wire in the socket and the MB booted once and after a restart...it never came up again
    Here is the socket representation of the broken pins
    ***\
    ****
    ****
    ****
    ****
    ****
    ****
    ****
    *--*

     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check with amd site to see if find info on those 2 pins. don't use crazy glue but conductive glue as i was the one who was giving the suggestions & have soldered some of those pins
     
  5. county

    county Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Conductive glue seems to be a good idea! but my real concern is that i dont have anything metal coming of the processor... have i damaged it badly? and secondly what can i use in place of a pin?
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,010
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    a pin could be used as long as not stainless steel & damage to cpu done is unknown but possibly scrap
     

Share This Page