1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Broken RAM chip??

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by TonyJer, Nov 27, 2011.

  1. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi

    Just noticed that RAM chip on back of MB had worked loose as I was doing reflow on other side. I attache dpictures of MB and back of chip. It couldn't have been the reheat as I didn't get to the back and none of the other 3 came off.

    What would have caused this and is it impossible to repair from this point.

    This I guess is where my 0010 was coming from!

    Many thanks
     
  2. MrGreaser

    MrGreaser Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The motherboard gets pretty hot on both sides during reflows even with indirect heat. As well, it may have already been loosened if the motherboard had been worked on previously. That board is toast. Reballing that chip is not worth it and it's extremely difficult even if you did. It would be much cheaper to buy an RROD console off craiglist, just make sure the person that's dumping it hasn't tried repairing it themselves.
     
  3. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks

    Forgot to add pictures anyway. For the record how do you add pictures?
     
  4. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    78
    By uploading these pics to for example imageshack or imagebanana and using [ img]link[ /img] without the spaces.
     
  5. eebeejay

    eebeejay Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    - Upload the pics anywhere online (photobucket, imageshack, etc).

    - Copy the link to the picture.
    - When writing your post, click the "Add Image" button -------> [​IMG]
    - Paste the link between the set of image brackets.

    (Didn't see your post, Eisherz. Maybe I shoulda refreshed first)
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2011
  6. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Many thanks

    Very helpful as usual.
     
  7. eebeejay

    eebeejay Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,767
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    On behalf of Eisherz,
    no problem.

    Post the pic/s
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2011

Share This Page