1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burn a Dual Layer Dvd to Dual Layer Dvd - Game

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by sfxwolf, Apr 7, 2005.

  1. sfxwolf

    sfxwolf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    Ok, I think I read pretty much every forum but dont see the basic answer here. Can you backup a PS2 DualLayer disk on a blank DL Disk using a DL Burner? Dvd Decrypter maybe? Direct copy?

    Using DVD+R DL Verbatim Disk..... Backing up my PS2 God of War DL Game.... Liteon DVD+R DL Burner.... PS2 is new fliptop using swapmagic 3.3 disks

    is this possible? Dont care to cut anything from it or make it a dvd5 instead of dvd9... Anyone got an answer for this I would appreciate it.
     
  2. Prize99

    Prize99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Dont think PS2's read backup Dual layers DVDr (DVD9). I tried with Verbatim DL+DVDr for GT4 but it didnt work.
     
  3. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I heard the DMS4 chip will allow you to play DVD9 backups with the latest firmware. Other than that, I don't think any other modchips will allow it. For swap magic you'd probably still need a TOC from a larger game. I have never used swap magic though, so...
     
  4. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    what program will burn dual layer discs?
    I ahve the dMS4 Pro and am getting the new ToxicOS v0.3 flash and want to give it a try.
     
  5. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    shouldn't Decrypter be able to do it? I ripped GT4 with it and was able to play with both layers of the game.
     
  6. Brian23

    Brian23 Guest

    Is there a list of the games that are dual layer out there?
     
  7. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    There is, but I don't know where. The only one I found so far is GT4.
     
  8. Brian23

    Brian23 Guest

    I think Xenosaga and God of war are dual layer too but i haven't confirmed it.
     
  9. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I've done GT 4 and God of War. I have a Sony DRU 710A and had to update it with the latest firmware. Cost me 2 dl dvd's, but everything works like a charm now. I use DVD Decrypter v.3.5.4.0 and copy just like any other game. I'm running the DMS 4 lite with Toxic 1.3.
     
  10. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    you've done GT4? Gran Turismo 4? Has this game been cracked yet?
     
  11. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Yes. Grand Turismo 4. I don't think it's been cracked yet. But I have the DMS 4 mod chip. Toxic just released the new flash for that chip which enables dvd+r dl to be read so I reflashed my chip. Then I just did the normal procedure with decrypter. At first the ps wouldn't read it, but I happened across a post in the dms forum in which another person updated their firmware for their burner (the same burner I have Sony DRU 710A). I did the update, burned another backup, and it worked perfect. Both GT4 and God of War.
     
  12. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Oh ya. I did gt4 on a verbatim dl and I did G.o.W. on a Ridata dl. Newegg has the Ridata for $28 for a 5 pack plus it includes a 6th for free. The freebee is a dvd rw, though.
     
  13. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  14. alanisgoo

    alanisgoo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I guess for us using swap magic the option of burning a DL game 1:1 is futile?
     
  15. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Right now...yes. But if your running a hard drive, there's a patch that lets you play gt4 off of it with out a mod chip.
     
  16. sfxwolf

    sfxwolf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So is there any word on whether Toxic or anyone has or is going to make a Preburn Patch for God of War so it can be backed up and played on PS2 using Swap Magic ?? Anyone heard of any other options for backing up GOW on Dual Layer... I will not back it up on Dvd5 and sacrifice anything in the game or movies. The game is incredible, I bought it on day one when it came out and am at the final battle with Aries.... Beautifully done game.

     
  17. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    From what I've read about the dvd5 god of war, the only thing missing is the "making of the game" movies. All the actual game movies and cutscenes are still there.
     
  18. alanisgoo

    alanisgoo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So the size of the compromised GOW file should be about, oh, I dont know, 2.94 Gb?? I was wondering because I was thinking about SPY hunting so that I didnt get swept away in the powerful TORRENT and I wouldnt mind avoiding GOW rebuilding if I didnt have to.

    Not lazy, just smart.
     
  19. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The downsized verison after using the sonic fix is 3.73gig.
     
  20. alanisgoo

    alanisgoo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So is 2.95 Gb a reasonably RARed file size for the fixed ISO?
     

Share This Page