1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

burn a DVD movie

Discussion in 'Copy DVD to DVDR' started by lontar, Jun 18, 2004.

  1. lontar

    lontar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I own Ice Age, and my son is always playing with the movies. I tried to copy the DVD with NERO, Alcohol,DVD Shrink etc. It copy the DVD no problew but when I tried to watch it on my DVD (SONY) it says cannot read. THe sony is a DVD+R. What is the problem?

    THnaks
     
  2. 321sucker

    321sucker Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What is the format and brand of the media that you're using?
    The model number of your player?
    THe model number of your burner?

    Have you tried ripping with DVDDecryptor, then burn it with DVDshrink or nero?
     
  3. lontar

    lontar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have it already in th HD all the files that came out when using DVD Decryptor. I'm using DVDShrink to burn it and it burns ok, but when I put to play on the DVD player the player wont play.. My DVD that I just bought today is a Sony DVP-NS725P, it reads DVDR+ etc. I'm using on my pc a NEC 2500A and I have tried everything I know on burning CDR's.

    Can you help me on figuring out why the DVD (Home Theater wont play the DVD) It plays on the PC
     
  4. 321sucker

    321sucker Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2004
  5. lontar

    lontar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm using for media Ridata Go4 and NEC 2500A, but still can't play it on the DVD
     
  6. 321sucker

    321sucker Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Do you usually burn with Ridata G04?
    Have you played other backups using this media on the sony?
    Could Also just be a bad disk.
    Is the media branded Ridata G04?
    Check the disk with the Nero info tools to be certain of the manufacturer and for bad sectors do the Nero scandisk.
    Is Ice Age the only movie that you're having this problem with?
    And from my experiences, If the backup will play on the pc, it is a good copy.
    Theres could be a compatibilty issue with media and the player.


     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2004
  7. lontar

    lontar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeap it is a RIDATA DVD+R media. It plays fine on the PC but cannot play onthe DVD, I also burn Hulk with the same problem....... this is a movie a friend of mine lend me to test the DVD, I'm confused What should I do?
     
  8. 321sucker

    321sucker Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If it plays fine on the pc and not on your stand alone player, the issue could be that your player has a low tolerance for burnt media or has issues with that format of media. I found that those expensive or older dvd players have porblems with burnt media.
    Check http://www.dvdrhelp.com
    This site gives valuable info on media and player compatibilty.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2004
  9. lontar

    lontar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well i'll try that but it is not expensive nor old.. I really don't know what to do.... I'll keep you posted and see what happens. Thansk for your help.....!!
     
  10. lontar

    lontar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what DVD player are you using. I'll try anything to see if I can use it. I just used clone DVD ands nothing the DVD cannot read the media


     
  11. lontar

    lontar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  12. lontar

    lontar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Bingo.... it was the player.. I got rid of it. Change it for a Zenith CHEAP one. It plays everuthing and the picture so far is awesome. No optical but what the he@#$.

    Thanks for your help. will upgrade to a better one soon....
     
  13. 321sucker

    321sucker Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I use the APex player.Cost 45 bucks. For whatever reason, the better players aren't as tolerant of burnt media as the cheapies. Keep this in mind.
    Word of advice.. Take a burnt disk that you know is good and play it on the player that you would like to purchase. No sense in waiting until u get home to find the player is overrated.
    Glad I could help and Welcome to the FORUM!!

     
  14. 321sucker

    321sucker Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I use the APex player.Cost 45 bucks. For whatever reason, the better players aren't as tolerant of burnt media as the cheapies. Keep this in mind.
    Word of advice.. Take a burnt disk that you know is good and play it on the player that you would like to purchase. No sense in waiting until u get home to find the player is overrated.
    Glad I could help and Welcome to the FORUM!!

    [bold]Its like de'javu all over again[/bold]

     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2004
  15. lontar

    lontar Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks again for your help...
     

Share This Page