1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burn fails while backing up Wii games.

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by Xenophrag, Jun 21, 2007.

  1. Xenophrag

    Xenophrag Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So I just tried to back up my first game. I am testing out the process and successfully RawDumped WiiPlay using RawDump 2.0. But when I try to use Nero 7 Burning Rom to burn it, I get an error like 2 minutes before completion stating that "Disc at Once failed to complete". I then noticed when I tried again that the Disc at Once option is not available to me, the option is grayed out and I am unable to check or uncheck the box. It also will only allow me to burn at 2.4x (which I don't mind, less mistakes) oh yeah.. Also I am using DVD+R's..that shouldn't matter should it. I tried to use ImageBurn and MagicIso as well but they would not recognize the Wii ISO.
     
  2. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    ImgBurn will recognize Wii ISO images. Are you sure the dump converted to an ISO image or do you still have the .wii extension.

    If it has a .wii extension then you will need to open up Rawdump again and unscramble the .wii file to an ISO

    Also Wii drives can be very picky as to what media it will use. So the DVD+R media cold also be the problem. Try some DVD-R media which Wii units tend to be better compatible with them.

    You will need to keep trying till you find some blank media that works. When you find that media stick with it.
     
  3. Xenophrag

    Xenophrag Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok..I'll try converting it to an ISO. My DVD burner will only burn +R's so I'm kinda screwed at the moment. But I haven't installed my WiiKey yet. I want to get the backup process down, I was going to test them on my buddies Wii. Do you think the Nero Error is because the image has the .wii extension? I opened the RawDump folder and clicked on the game file and it automatically opened up Nero Burning Rom, so I figured I was good to go.
     
  4. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Do you think I typed...

    Just to watch myself type?

     
  5. Xenophrag

    Xenophrag Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Maybe...do you like to type?

    Actually I thought that you were speaking specifically about Image Burn. As I stated above the image of the game opens up in Burning Rom automatically and does start burning. Nero sees it as it is without any converting. But near completion it errors. I just tried to unscramble the "Raw to an Iso" however when directed to choose a file to unscramble raw dump can't see it. The file itself does not have an ext. it simple reads:

    PARTY PACK FOR REVOLUTION
    IMAGE FILE
    4.37 GB
     
  6. Xenophrag

    Xenophrag Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Actually, according to the INFO tab in Burning Rom the file in question already is a .iso. So now what do I do?
     
  7. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    The problem could be that your drive is in PIO mode and needs to be reset back to DMA mode. This more then likely is the problem with the Burner only being able to burn at 2.4x speed.

    To check and see if it is in PIO mode and to put it back into DMA mode follow the guide below...

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/260038
     
  8. Xenophrag

    Xenophrag Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah, I know how to set it from PIO to DMA. I set it to PIO to get Raw Dump 2.0 to work. I'll try setting it back to DMA.
     

Share This Page