1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"burn process failed" and "communication failure" how can i fix this

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by battles, Feb 28, 2005.

  1. battles

    battles Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Im using dvd shrink and nero 6.6.0.8. and I keep getting this "communication failure" or "burn process failed", If anyone has had this problem on this plese reply.
     
  2. billwebso

    billwebso Guest

    At what point in the process are you getting this error?
     
  3. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    Hi battles, welcome to aD,


    LQQk, we really need a lot more information in order to help you. This is an example of the type of information we need, fill in as much as you can - it's all very important -

    First - has this burner ever worked ?

    Have you added or remoived any programs recently that may have effected the burner ?

    What are your PC's specs ?

    Have you tried checking your burning basics ?

    Have you flashed your Firmware ?

    Do you have a working ASPI layer ?

    When was your last Disk Defrag ?
    If you have to think about it, it's been far too long.
    You need to do it now ! ! !


    What type of media are you using ?
    (Of major importance if you're having any trouble burning discs.)

    What is the name of the DVD you are trying to backup ?

    What programs are you using ?
    To rip ? DVD Shrink
    To edit ? DVD Shrink
    To Burn ? Nero

    Are you using Nero to burn in the "automatic" mode in DVD Shrink OR are you burning seperatly from your HD using Nero's Burning ROM ?
    Using Nero Express ?

    What Guide OR Guides are you using ?

    Was there an error ? What exactly did it say ?

    Exactly where were you and what are you doing when your error occurred ?

    Do you have an error log and can you post it ?

    Do you have any Roxio products installed on your PC ?

    Are you operating in the PIO or DMA transfer mode ?


    Handy tools to help you find out about your PC ~

    To check firmware, at the bottom of the page look for "What's my firmware? - Try this little tool I found," Download this tool and check out your firmware. There are also some firmware updates at this site.

    http://flashman.rpc-1.com/


    ASPI Checker.
    Ascertains your ASPI layer's presence and operation status

    http://www.adaptec.com/worldwide/su...nguage=English+US&filekey=aspichk.exe&sess=no


    DVD Identifier.
    Provides us with important info about your discs.

    http://dvd.identifier.cdfreaks.com/

    Nero Info Tool.
    General system information: Drive operation & support
    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/cdr_software/cdr_tools/nero_info_tool.cfm


    awaiting your answers,

    Pete
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2005
  4. billwebso

    billwebso Guest

    Glad to see you back ScubaPete. Been divin'?
     
  5. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I think I probably have to get out of my wheelchair and learn to walk first - Ya think ?

    Maybe before I die - Who knows ?
     
  6. battles

    battles Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    1. Yes the burner has worked. ONCE! the first day i got it

    2. I don't think i removed any programs that affected it but i removed the old burning driver that i had with my cd burner

    3. Im not realy understanding what you mean by PC SPECS but I have windows 98, pentium 3

    4. YES ive checked my burn basics

    5. How do i flash my software?

    6. How do i check my aspi layer?

    7. My last Disk Defrag was when I put my Dvd burner in and that was about 2-3 weeks ago.

    8. Im using hp dvd+r 8x burning discs 4.7 GB Data

    9. Im trying numerous of dvds to back up its just not one, its all of them.

    10. Dvd shrink to rip dvd skrink to edit (or if it doesn't rip a dvd i use dvd decryptor) and Nero 6.6.0.8
    and it goes to automatic burn from dvd shrink to nero.

    11. it'll get all the way to 100% and say burn process failed while burning at 8x (11,000 something) or before all of this it'll say "communication failure" but still goes through the burn process untill the end.

    12. when the error occured i was looking dead at the screen.

    13. I have a error log but i'll post it after i answer all the questions

    14. I have nothing from roxy.

    15. Are you operating in the PIO or DMA transfer mode ? Have no clue what that is.
     
  7. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    you dont need to download aspi checker,you have nero,which will scan the system for you

    run a info tool scan and check the status of your aspi layers,nero has one built in,but there should be 2 options on the drop down menu
    if not....
    http://cd-rw.org/articles/archive/aspisetup.cfm

    thats way too fast,try halving it at least


    the mode you should be in if available is DMA(direct memory access)

    my computer/control panel/system/hardware/device manager....where it says "ide/atapi controllers
    click the box/double click the "secondary ide channel"
    then advance settings
    it should say DMA.
    (THE ABOVE ROUTE MAY DIFFER SLIGHTY,AS YOU ARE ON WINDOWS 98),i am not sure
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2005
  8. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    battles,


    When asking for your PC's specifications I was indeed asking about those things which make up your PC.

    You have given us something to work with now so I'll start with what I think is the larger problem first.

    Because you have a Pent 3, I'd like a bit more info in that direction -

    What speed is your processor ?
    (By going to Device Manager - On the front (General tab) of your Device Manager you should see the amount the speed of your Pent III, i.e., 1.2GHz, 550MHz, etc)

    I also need to know how much RAM (Random access memory) you have -

    (On the front (General tab) of your Device Manager you should also see the amount of RAM that's in your PC.

    It's my feeling that your PC may be a little on the low operating side So, as hursty said, let's slow that burning way down to about 4X. Your PC doesn't have enough "Brain" to transfer the data that fast. Also, set your "DVD Target size" in DVD Shrink to "custom", 4300MB in Edit - preferences - First page -
    We're doing this so we don't burn to the very edge of the disc where many times the dye is uneven OR non-existent. I recommend that the highest it be set is 4360MB when doing a backup to a DVD-5 as this is the proper size of the disc NOT 4464MB as some discs programs will try to push their writing.

    Now, since we don't know how much working memory RAM you have we need to close down everything that's using it that doesn't have to - For some reason, every program you load into your PC wants their program to open with the starting of your unit whether it's a bright idea or not -

    So, go to Start - Run - type in the blank space, "msconfig" just like that without the "(quotes)". then hit "Enter".When the screen "Pops" up, go to the "Startup" tab. Un-check everything except Systray and, Explorer then click "Apply" - OK - OK again to reboot. Now when you attempt to backup a DVD you'll be able to use all of your PC's resources (a good thing) There will be no bad effects by doing this. I would suggest that for the long haul, go back and check any programs that have the name of your Virus OR Firewall applications. so you'll be protected while online.


    Here's some more help with the other stuff,

    There are some things we should check as they have a direct influence over how our drive behaves -

    Physically, if your burner was installed by you or a friend, we need to be sure your burner is set as "master" on your IDE cable and the IDE cable s/b an 80-pin cable not a 40-pin. Always double-check your burner's jumpers to make sure they are correctly set for master, not slave. These tasks must be done by looking at the drive itself.

    Right then, let's check for up-to-date Firmware for your burner.

    "OK, so what is this "Firmware" garbage?" Fair question. Firmware is a "tutor" who's job it is to eliminate any "bugs" found in your drive and to "introduce" your burner to all the different kinds of media to your burner is likely to run into and to tell your burner a little bit about it. What type of media it is and at what speed to burn it. As new media is introduced OR, as the Mfgrs of your burner find new ways to use it, new firmware updates OR "Flash upgrades" come out to "school" your burner, keeping it up-to-date. It's good to keep your burner up-to-date as it "tweaks" your burner and keeps it operating at peak performance.

    Of major Importance - When dealing firmware, you must match your burner's exact model with the proper Firmware. Trying to "Flash" your burner with something "Close" won't do it. It must be the exact firmware for your drive. ("Flashing" is what the installation is referred to when you put the firmware into your drive.) Trying to "Flash" your drive with some other drive's firmware can ruin your drive.

    At the bottom of the page look for "What's my firmware? - Try this little tool I found," Download this tool and check out your Firmware's health (up-to-date wise). You can probably get a current upgrade there also -

    http://flashman.rpc-1.com/

    Firmware page -

    http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_all.php

    Always check your burner's Mfgr's "Support" section to see if some newer Firmware is there -

    Firmware, You can't burn without it -

    Finally, we need to check your DMA. "Ooohh, no you're not ! Only my husband or my Doctor checks my "D", "M" . . whatever . . ." No, no, it's OK, DMA stands for "Direct Memory Access" transfer mode OR as we say in the computer field, it's a really, fast way to move stuff. Many PC's today are using UDMA or "Ultra Direct Memory Access transfer mode, or as we like to call it, a really super-duper fast way to move stuff as opposed to the PIO mode. The PIO or Programmed I/O mode, is a technique whereby the system CPU and support hardware directly control the transfer of data between the system and the hard disk since shortly after the beginning of PC's up until the mid-1990's. So we want DMA (fast) more than we PIO (slow).

    3. Let's check your Drive's transfer mode. It should be DMA-4, not PIO.
    Windows XP downgrades the Ultra DMA transfer mode after receiving six CRC errors and drops it down to the much slower PIO mode.

    To enable DMA mode using the Device Manager
    1. Go to "My Computer, ""System Tools," "View System Information," then System Properties, "Hardware," Then Open Device Manager
    2. Double-click IDE ATA//ATAPI Controllers to display the list of controllers and channels.
    3. Right-click the icon for the channel to which your burner is connected and select Properties. Now click the Advanced Settings tab.
    4. In the Current Transfer Mode drop-down box, select DMA if available if the current setting says, "PIO Only."
    If the drop-down box already says, "DMA if Available" but the current transfer mode is PIO, then the user must "toggle" the settings. That is, change the selection from "DMA if available" to PIO only, and click "OK".
    Then repeat the steps above to change the selection to "DMA if available".

    OPTION: Right-click the burner and select "Uninstall" and then "OK" all prompts until the PC reboots. Upon rebooting, the PC should "find" your burner and reinstall it setting it by "Default" to DMA.

    Lastly, when did you last defrag your Hard Drive (HD) ? If you have to stop and think about the last time you did it, then it's way, way overdue. Here we go, (Start, All Programs, Accessories, System Tools, Disk Defragmenter. When it opens, choose your HD, analyses it to see where we stand then if you need it (you probably will) choose Defragment.).

    After you finish doing it now you might want to think about having "Scheduled Tasks" in your Control Panel do it for you on a daily basis.

    A fragmented HD not only drastically slows down your system but it can cause all number of things to happen inside your PC, a messed up burn being one of them.

    Once we've done that, our DVD burner should operate at peak efficiency :D)

    Cheers,

    Pete

    Now let's see if everything will work together the way we want it to, OK ?

    Give it a test run and let us know how you make out -
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2005
  9. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    adding to pete's comments about defragging..

    i have recently installed an app' called "disk keeper"
    and its wicked!
    it keeps your hardrive running smooooooooooothly,
    no need for anymore defraging
    optimizing all the resources to the max,
    i ran it, and noticed the difference,pc was faster and more effienct
     
  10. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yep, that's a great app. I've been using the corperate version for well over a year - Defrags 24/7 all drives, all the time - you can never go wrong.

    I'm very pleased with it - to say the least -

    'p'
     

Share This Page