1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burned: I get a blank disk and temp image on my drive

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by CAS, Nov 1, 2003.

1. CAS

CAS Member

Ok, maybe I'm a newbie of newbies, but I've read most guides, FAQ's, threads, and searched endlessly for an answer so I have to post a question.

I use DVD Shrink 3 beta 5 to rip and author, then Nero 5 to burn. But after all this I end up with a blank DVD+R and an image on my drive with the statement "ready to be written." Maybe it has something to do with the following. When I try to choose my recorder in Nero it only shows an image recorder which says it's a virtual device. Along with this there are many features and buttons greyed out that, according to the guides, should be enabled.

I'm running XP and an NEC DVD+RW ND1100A.

Is there a wizard or something I have to disable? I'm sick of all the new XP idiot-friendly crap on this thing.

Thanks all :)

2. CAS

CAS Member

Ok, I figured out this is because I chose the image recorder (and now understand what that is so I feel dumb :).

But now my subquestion stands which is why isn't my installed recorder recognized by Nero? How do I make it recognize since I can't autodetect a recorder?

Thanks!

3. stewlsa

stewlsa Guest