1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

burned ISO "jerky" on standalone player...not on PC

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by lakerman, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. lakerman

    lakerman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have an iso image of a movie and it's about 4.5 gig. When I burn this image onto DVD it plays fine on my PC. However, on my Toshiba standalone player, the movie plays jerky. Basically, it pauses for a millisecond every second or so.

    Is it something in the way I'm burning the disc? I've tried a few different ways: burning it with Nero Burning ROM (DVD Image), extracting the ISO and burning the files with NERO Express, using MagicISO, etc. I've tried burning it with two different DVD burners on my machine, but I get the same results no matter what.

    I swear I had this problem once before and there was some way of burning that kept this from happening. If anyone can PLEASE give me some advice other than trying a different media type, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks in advance for your help.
     
  2. ChrisC586

    ChrisC586 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What burners and firmware do you have and also what speed are you burning at and how much of the disc are you burning to?
     
  3. lakerman

    lakerman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm using an external LG burner. I've attached the DISCInfo summary below. In terms of the dvd, I've tried burning at 6X and it give me the same performance as if I burned it at the max speed. I'm burning to the whole disc. The ISO is about 4.6 gig. Thanks for your help.

    DISCINFO VERSION : 1.6.1.6
    FIRMWARE : LE05
    VENDOR : HL-DT-ST
    MODEL : DVDRAM GSA-E10L
    REVISION : LE05
    VENDOR SPECIFIC : #
    LOADING MECHANISM : Tray
    SERIAL NUMBER : K13E7J83058
    NUMBER VOL. LEVELS : 256
    BUFFER SIZE : 2048KB
    INTERFACE : ATAPI
    RPC2 SCHEME : YES
    STATUS : Set
    USER CHANGES : 4
    VENDOR CHANGES : 4
    CURRENT REGION : 1
    ANALOG AUDIO PLAY : YES
    COMPOSITE OUTPUT : NO
    DIGITAL PORT-PORT1 : NO
    DIGITAL PORT-PORT2 : NO
    READ UPC CODE : YES
    MULTISESSION READ : YES
    MODE 2 FORM 1 : YES
    MODE 2 FORM 2 : YES
    READ ISRC CODE : YES
    READ BAD CODE : NO
    BUFFER UNDER-RUN : YES
    MT. RAINIER : NO
    CAN READ CDR : YES
    CAN READ CDRW : YES
    CAN READ CDRM2 : YES
    CAN WRITE CDR : YES
    CAN WRITE CDRW : YES
    CAN TEST WRITE : YES
    CAN READ DVD-ROM : YES
    CAN READ DVD-R : YES
    CAN READ DVD-RW : YES
    CAN READ DVD-RAM : YES
    CAN READ DVD+R : YES
    CAN READ DVD+RW : YES
    CAN WRITE DVD-R : YES
    CAN WRITE DVD-RW : YES
    CAN WRITE DVD-RAM : YES
    CAN WRITE DVD+R : YES
    CAN WRITE DVD+RW : YES
    MAX CDR READ SPEED : 48
    MAX CDR WRITE SPEED: 48
     
  4. Shardel

    Shardel Guest

    If you use DVD-R discs try burning on a DVD+R disc (or the other way
    around if you use +discs. Through the years on several different
    standalone DVD players I have found that this solves the problem.
    It can be absolutely infuriating to try and watch a movie when it is
    doing that.
     
  5. lakerman

    lakerman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok..I've got an update. After thinking about all the other movies I've burned and they work fin (home movies, etc.), I went ahead and created an ISO image of a DVD I had. I burned that ISO and it plays fine. So, it looks like it must be something with the ISO image I have.

    Does anyone have any ideas what might cause this to happen in the ISO itself? Do I need to burn it a different way or edit it in some way? I just don't understand why it would play fine on my pc drive, but not on the stand-alone. If I can fix the ISO, great! If not, I'll just try to get a different ISO of the movie. Thanks again.
     
  6. lakerman

    lakerman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, last update. I believe the ISO image I have is a PAL image. I'm assuming that would be a problem. I'm sorry I didn't notice this before. I apologize for the silly overlook. If that wouldn't cause this kind of problem, please let me know, but I have a feeling that's all it is. Thanks again for everyone's help
     

Share This Page