1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

burner not listed in SELECT BACKUP TARGET tab please help

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by PHANO1, Feb 9, 2007.

  1. PHANO1

    PHANO1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    HI ALL
    I NEED SOME HELP
    WHEN I SELECT BACKUP DVD IN THE TARGET DEVICE/SELECT BACKUP TARGET
    TAB MY DVD BURNER IS NOT LISTED THEREFORE I CANT BURN DVDS
    I HAVE RECENTLY GOT A NEW COMPUTER I INSTALLED NERO,DVD FAB DECRYPTER THEN DVD SHRINK IN THAT ORDER AND THEN THIS PROBLEM AROSE
    PLEASE HELP :)
     
  2. aabbccdd

    aabbccdd Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 10, 2007
  3. PHANO1

    PHANO1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi there aabbccdd,
    thanks for the heads up on the caps.
    my dvd burner brand is pioneer dvd-rw dvr-111d
     
  4. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    When you open the Nero Infotool, are your optical drives in the drop down box at the top when you click on it?

    In the drop down box where it says burn with Nero, is that empty?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2007
  5. PHANO1

    PHANO1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi PacMan777
    all i have in the select backup target drop down box is

    create ISO image file
    ISO image file
    create dvd file
    hard disk folder

    there is no burn with nero in the box
    and ther is no nero icon (the disk with the flame)in the drop down box.
     
  6. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Looks like it's time for a clean install. Delete both programs from Add Remove run the Nero cleaner, you can find it at the Nero site. Then do a reg clean, install the Nero, and then install the Shrink. Reboot when through installing.

    It might work by just reloading Shrink, if you want to try that first.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2007
  7. PHANO1

    PHANO1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks PacMan777
    i will give that a go and get back to ya
     
  8. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You're welcome. Those methods have worked for me in the past. Hope they do the same for you.
     
  9. PHANO1

    PHANO1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    PacMan777
    I removed nero and shrink and then reinstalled both of them it is still doing it. it's like shrink is not recondising nero.
    When i open nero it can see my burner.
     
  10. aabbccdd

    aabbccdd Guest

  11. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    That's a first for me. Shrink was written with Nero as the default burner when it's present. It'll be interesting to see what the problem is when/if you get it solved. In the meantime ABCD is right, you can use DVD Decrypter as the burner. However I'd just use Shrink to burn to the HD and then use Nero or ImgBurn. They have speed control and DVD Decrypter doesn't. Burning too fast can sometimes cause errors.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2007
  12. aabbccdd

    aabbccdd Guest

    you can control the burn speed in dvd decrypter also, theres a setting
     
  13. fasfrank

    fasfrank Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    My 2 cents...
    No metion that I could see of what version Nero is being used. Last couple of Nero 6 releases would not autoburn with Shrink. Normally you would get an error and you could still see the drive as a target. So I doubt it's the prob but thought I'd metion to use this version of Nero 6:
    Download/Update Nero from here, both packages
    Package 1:
    http://www.dvdplusvideo.com/Nero-6.6.0.18_no_yt.exe

    Package 2:
    http://www.dvdplusvideo.com/NVE-3.1.0.21_no_yt.exe


    Oh and to get rid of the annoying all caps, you should edit your first post, here's how:
    Click the Edit icon at the top right side of your original post. The icon looks like this:

    [​IMG]
     
  14. PHANO1

    PHANO1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi all
    i gave dvd decrypter a go on it own and it backed it up to the hard drive fine but when it came to backing it up to disk it came up with NO DEVICES FOUND so it seemed that dvd decrypter couldn't see my burner either. regards to what version of nero it is : all i can find is the icon i start it up with (nero start smart) and the (nero6) user guide
    thanks
    PHANO1
     
  15. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Go into Device Manager, Expand IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers, and uninstall the channel with the drives on it (usually the secondary). Then reboot. Normally that gets windows recognizing the drives properly. That's also the fix for DMA off. It only takes a few minutes and hurts nothing. So it's worth a try before getting into more lengthy troubleshooting. Before you do the uninstall you can check your drives in Device Manager as well.

    -----------------------------------

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2007
  16. PHANO1

    PHANO1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    pacman777
    i tried what you suggested and it stoped my drive from woking had to reinstall them. on your last post it showed only one primary IDE channel and one secondary IDE channel i have two of each is that normal?
     
  17. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Naturally it stops your drive from working. You shouldn't have even tried working the drive after uninstalling the channel until the operating system picked them back up on reboot. That's why I said Reboot. Your operating system picks the channels back up when you reboot. A lot of systems will have 2 drives on the Primary (master/slave) and 2 on the secondary. I've not seen any with 2 Primary channels and 2 Secondary channels.

    In Device Manager, are your drive(s) listed under DVD/CD-ROM Drives?
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2007
  18. johnl123

    johnl123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    PHANO1,

    You've been given some good advice here, but you neglected to try what will more than likely solve your problem, fasfrank was kinda there. Shrink and some older versions of nero didn't work well together, so I suggest you try fasfrank's advice and update your version of nero.

    You don't state what version of nero you're using, but....
    Version 6 that works with shrink:

    Download/Update Nero from here, both packages
    Package 1:
    http://www.dvdplusvideo.com/Nero-6.6.0.18_no_yt.exe

    Package 2:
    http://www.dvdplusvideo.com/NVE-3.1.0.21_no_yt.exe

    Note: make sure you uninstall older versions of nero correctly using the general clean tool before installing newer versions.

    Clean tool
    http://www.nero.com/nero6/enu/General_CleanTool.html

    [bold]I'm sure that when you update NERO, Shrink will recognize your burner.[/bold]
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2007

Share This Page