1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning 2 Discs to a Dual-layer DVD+R

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by jkuziora, Apr 24, 2005.

  1. jkuziora

    jkuziora Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm a bit of a novice to all of this, so your patience assistance would be appreciated. I have an LG HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GWA-4161B and I use DVD Decrypter to back up my DVD's. I want to be able to back-up some of my 2 disc DVD's onto a dual-layer but my first few attepts have not been successful. Any advice / directions? Thank you.
     
  2. OU812Ono

    OU812Ono Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Dvd Shrink has abillity to work with DL. It's under the Edit-Prefrences under "target Dvd size" you can choose the Dvd-9 filesize. If you are not familiar with using shrink here are a couple of link's.

    There's a shrink/decryptor guide here, same concept only change the target size as stated above to 8.5 "dvd-9"
    http://www.dvdplusvideo.com/tutorial007.html

    http://home.comcast.net/~bbmayo/index.html

    Do some reading and if your still having problems c'mon back and we'll get ya goin.
     
  3. jkuziora

    jkuziora Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry, as I mentioned, I'm a bit of a novice. Is Dvd shrink a feature of DVD Decrypter (if it is I can't find it) or is it a separate piece of software.
     
  4. kickbak

    kickbak Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Shrink and Decrypter are two seperate programs that are Freeware (Donations are accepted)
    Click on the software tab, found at the top of every Afterdawn.com page.
    Look to the right, you will always find them under "Top Downloads".
     
  5. jkuziora

    jkuziora Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks guys, you've been fantastic help. The only thing that I'm having trouble doing now is backing up 2 DVD's onto 1 Dual Layer disc. I tried using DVD+R DL (Memorex - some people say they're poor quality) and when I was being prompted my computer said I didn't have any media in there. Beyond this, when I was trying to load the two discs in DVD Shrink, I could never get both onto the menu at the same time. Any suggestions? Do I need to have them both there at the same time or can I just burn one and then the other?
     
  6. OU812Ono

    OU812Ono Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    As far as the disc not being recognized, did you specify the burner as the "target drive" in Dvd Shrink? After you hit backup, there's a menu window thats says "Select backup target" if you chose your burner in that window you might have a bad disc. I've had 2 out of 100+ that were dud disc's. If you have more I would try a different disc.

    With the problem of putting the 2 disc's into Shrink. It sounds like your reading from the drive and swapping disc's and burning after it's done encoding. If you are I would suggest using Dvd Decryptor to rip "remove encryption/copy" the disc's to your harddrive. Then you could make a compilation with shrink. Here's a guide on how to do that:

    http://www.dvdshrink.info/compilation.php

    Most disc's are between 4.5 and 8.5Gb's so make sure you have enough space.

    The problem with Memorex is they aren't very consistent with the dye they use, you could have a couple different types in the same batch from what I hear. If your new I would highly suggest getting quality media. Poor media can give you all sorts of strange problems. I nearly pulled my hair out when I first started. I was using Dynex brand and I was getting a different problem every time I tried a backup. Switched to "Branded" quality media and not a coaster in the last 150+ that wasn't my fault.

    If you haven't gotten Dvd Decryptor yet I would d/l it. Can't beat the price either, free.

    Good Luck and again, any problems c'mon back.
     

Share This Page