1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

burning a downloaded file to a dvd-r

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by mbay, Jan 27, 2008.

1. mbay

mbay Member

Hi im a newbie and im trying to burn a downloaded file to a dvd-r. Ive tried to burn it as a .img with imgburn, also ive changed the extension to .iso and tried it with nero 6. Finally, ive converted the files to VOB IFO and BUP in a video_ts folder with dvdfab decrypter and tried to burn them with nero express. All of these methods say the burn was succesful but when i put them in the dvd player it will not work. i dont have this problem with files that ive backed up and burned

2. cyprusrom

cyprusrom Active member

What kind of file did you download( I am a bit curious when you say you converted with DVDFab Decrypter).
    Simply renaming to ISO won't work.
    What is the file extension of your downloads?

3. mbay

mbay Member

the download was an rar file and i extracted it with winrar which made it an .img file. sorry i didnt mention that. one time i used dvdfab decrypter to convert the .img file to VOB IFO and BUP files and as i said that didnt work

Last edited: Jan 27, 2008
  4. cyprusrom

cyprusrom Active member

Do you have any of the following:
    DVD Decrypter
    Nero
    ImgBurn?
    How big is the img file?Any of these will burn your IMG file to a disc.You don't have to convert anything. If you don't have any of thse applications, download ImgBurn. It is free and one of the best burning software.

5. mbay

mbay Member

yes i have all three of those and imgburn said the burn was successful. i then tried to play it in one of my dvd players and it worked but when i tried it in another dvd player it wouldnt work. the file is about 4.5 GB

6. cyprusrom

cyprusrom Active member

If the file is too big (4.5 GB is too much, it should be about 4,3GB), the disc could be unlpayable in some players, or skip, freeze, pixelate.