1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning a mdf /mds file for PS2 - help

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by slewis72, Dec 30, 2004.

  1. slewis72

    slewis72 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK - new here so here goes.

    Had my ps2 for years - its got an old mod chip in - and I use regionx when wonding to boot a copied game (dont have many anyway) Dont generally use my ps2 much - as wife uses it most with dance mat.

    Anyway - went and got Xploder Por v5 before christmas as wanted to use the media centre and hook it upto my pc. OK - all well but low and helhold, 4 days ago - my lovley 4 year old daughter decided to feed the disc to the dog - hence the disc with teeth marks in does not work.

    So - downloaded a copy off emule, unrarred it and 2 files, mdf and mds.
    Opened up Alcahol120% - chose image wizard, burn disc (cd not dvd) on my external dvd rw, and will it load after putting in region x - nope. Tried using nero v6 etc. Nope.

    Any ideas?

    Scott

     
  2. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    aint mdf a type of compressed wood?? try using clone cd.burn the mds file.
     
  3. slewis72

    slewis72 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well, tried that and clone cd says there is not enough space on cdr. So - put ina dvd rw disc - and still wont boot. Should I try a dvdr disc.

    Interstsing though that it will burn to cd-r with nero and Alcahol120 and no message about file size.

    Scott
     
  4. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    if your ps2 is old and you are using region x,you will NOT be able to boot up DVD'S.
    do you know what the file size is???anything over 800mb and you have had it.
     
  5. slewis72

    slewis72 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    744mb for the mdf file.

    Scott
     
  6. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    i bet you only have 700mb discs..your probably stuffed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2004
  7. slewis72

    slewis72 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Also - can I use cdrw or is that a no no - thought could save on making coasters

    Scott
     
  8. slewis72

    slewis72 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yep - 700mb discs only - bugger.

    Scott
     
  9. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    you can use cdrw depends whether you drive recognizes it.
    try looking through options on software,look for "allow for overburning",you might be able to squeeze it onto a 700mb disc.
    keep writing speed to a minimun.x1/x2.
     
  10. slewis72

    slewis72 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well -clonecd does not have a overburn options

    Bugger

    Scott
     
  11. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    i think alcohol does
     
  12. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    just checked out alcohol 120
    its does allow for overburning,depending on your driver
    FILE>OPTION>RECORDING>ALLOW FOR OVERBURN
    regards hursty
     
  13. slewis72

    slewis72 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks, will give it a shot later

    Scott
     
  14. slewis72

    slewis72 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok - got some 700mb discs. Opened up the image in Alcohol - said it was only 622mb in files hmmm. Anyway - burnt at lowest speed - 8x and made sure overburn was also selected.

    Placed in PS2, after loading region x. And wont load - seem to start making the right sounds and then no more.

    Also tried the mdf file using pcsx2 ps2 emulator. Loads fine in that.

    Any ideas?

    Scott
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2004
  15. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    http:/
    /smilies.sofrayt.com/1/i0/monkeypissr.gif

    x8 is too fast,the discc should be able to be burned at x2 speed
     

Share This Page