1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning avi - sound off time with video

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by glennnphp, Jun 7, 2007.

  1. glennnphp

    glennnphp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i've just attempted to burn a good avi and once made a DVD-Video the sound starts and remains about 30 seconds behind the video. I just clicked straight through all the buttons without changing any settings, i.e. importing the avi (one), Next, Next, Burn... etc...

    I don't want to continue ruining DVDs - can someone make a guess as to why this is happening for this Nero Rookie?

    i really appreciate any help -

    glennn.php
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,512
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Convert the AVI with this program.

    http://dl.afterdawn.com/vsoDivxToDVD_setup_v0.5.2b.exe
    Import the file(s) (AVI, MPEG, VOB)
    Output (standard DVD file format) to a folder on the HDD.
    Set 'Aspect' to 4:3 (if you have a regular tv)
    Set 'Standard' to NTSC (if you live in North America)

    Click on one of the VOB files in the output folder and check that it is in sync.

    Start Nero Vision: Make DVD > DVD Video > Add Video Files
    Open the output folder and load the VOB files.
    The first relevant file is VTS_01_1.VOB, then _2.VOB in order.
    Make the menu and burn at 4x on Verbatim or media that says 'Made in Japan'.
     
  3. glennnphp

    glennnphp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    awesome, thanks - will try this...

    "Import the file(s) (AVI, MPEG, VOB)" << Import these into...?

    (i converted the avi using DivX Pro and i ended up with 2 .BUPs, 2 .IFOs and about 8 .VOBs)

    /************

    what is causing this to happen? if i view the avi in DivX Pro, it sounds fine. if i even view the avi in Nero it's off...
     
  4. glennnphp

    glennnphp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oh - i gotcha - thanks

     
  5. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,512
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    'vsoDivxToDVD'

    Click on and play one of the those VOB files, if it's ok proceed to burn with Nero.

    I can only say that some programs are better than others at converting AVI to DVD.

    Nero uses it's own codecs, as do other programs and it's possible that a reinstall will fix the problem (if it's a general problem that is, and not a 'one of')
     
  6. glennnphp

    glennnphp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok - i'm curious as to what will playback the VOB file...?

    thanks

     
  7. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,512
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Generally, your software player will.It's just an mpeg file.
     
  8. glennnphp

    glennnphp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    right, it played back in Nero and the synch started right. didn't check it halfway through, but i'll risk it at this point.

    THANKS

     
  9. mj0704

    mj0704 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How do you do something like a TV show where you are going to have three separate AVI files turning into sets of VOB files?
     
  10. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,512
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    If the items had names like
    Cheers01.avi
    Cheers02.avi
    Cheers03.avi
    when you browse for them, select them in reverse order [Ctrl + Mouse] and they appear on the source input as 123.
    When they are converted they become
    VTS_01_1.VOB
    VTS_01_2.VOB
    VTS_01_3.VOB
    corresponding to the order they were imported.
    Since this program does not create a menu, if you simply burned the compilation, the episodes would play back in order, 1-2-3.
    If you used an authoring program like Nero Vision, the files would come in and you have the option of merging them into one large file with one menu item or opt to keep them separate and have three menu items.
     
  11. Zapattack

    Zapattack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The out-of-synch problem is probably being caused by a frame
    error. I found this out by trying to fix an AVI file by re-coding
    in WinMPG. It crashed, but VLC or MediaPlayer did not complain.
    Nero however just inserted some blank video screen while allowing the
    audio to continue, so no longer in synch.
    Does anybody know how to either force NeroVision to ignore the
    error, or is there a program to fix the AVI files?
    Latest 7960 version...
     
  12. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,512
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
  13. Zapattack

    Zapattack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Excellent utility, but doesn't fix the problem. Delay was '0' already,
    and generating a new file actually made the (Nero) problem worse.
    There is an error in the audio which causes NeroVision or Showtime to
    skip ahead a few seconds. AVI-Mux actually moved the synch error
    (missing audio) right to the beginning of the file, but only for Nero.
    Is it possible to dis-able the Nero codecs?
    I have the same problem on two files, but only recently changed from
    Nero759 to 796 and never had this before.
     
  14. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,512
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    There's something called 'Radlight Filter Manager', that you can run and under the 'Directshow Filters' tab all the Nero codecs are listed.
    You can either unregister them or change their merit value - I've never had the nerve.
     
  15. Zapattack

    Zapattack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Found this forum: 'nero 7 premium "out of sync" issues'
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/3/501702

    Disabled NeAudio2 and NeVideo and solved the problem for Showtime, but NeroVision crashed.
    Copied above files from 7590 and NeroVision appears to work fine in the preview.

    Obviously the file error still there, but why did Nero change the codecs for the worse?
    Will follow up on your latest info.
    More investigative options can't hurt.
    Thanks for sharing.
     

Share This Page