1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning coasters

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by soro, Mar 30, 2005.

  1. soro

    soro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Have been successful backing up ps2 games for a year now Just recently the last five games I tried have come out as coasters. Using clony xxl & alchol 120%, have notice my maxium burn speed has dropped( does this mean my laser is dying), have no probs with burning video on dvd or cd. Any thoughts.
     
  2. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    have you changed to a different type of media or has the brand of discs your using changed dye type
     
  3. soro

    soro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I use verbatim DVD-R and they are from a spindle of fifty where the first 10 worked fine
     
  4. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    ok that seem to eliminate the media theory, what games are causing you problems and what type of mod are you using to boot your backups
     
  5. soro

    soro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The games were merceneries, brotherhood 30 miles..., Killzone, i can't remeber the mod chip but i,m pretty sure it's not that.
     
  6. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    both killzone and merceneries have caused backup problems for other forum members have you tried using a different burning software e.g. dvd decrypter, record now
     
  7. soro

    soro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Will try that one and let you know, thanks for the tip.
     
  8. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    well for Mercenaries anyway, it needs to be rebuilt before it will work.
     
  9. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    believe you only need to rebuild it if your using swapmagic as my backup boots fine with duo2se
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2005
  10. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    i hope you are not burning them at max speed

    check your DMA settings if you are having trouble with burning,make sure its enabled
     
  11. soro

    soro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No I burn at 1x or 2x
     

Share This Page