1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning DVD but DVD are bad disc

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by smilecme, Oct 12, 2004.

1. smilecme

smilecme Member

I have been burning DVD for 8 months now. It seems as though lately when I burn a DVD shrink tells me everything burned correctly but when I take the DVD to a DVD player the player says bad disc. I go do three DVD in a row with it telling me it's a bad disk and then on the forth try it works. Why is this happening. I don;t think there is a problem with the DVD's. Has anyone been having this happen to them?

2. ScubaPete

ScubaPete Senior member

Hi smilecme,

I think that's EXACTLY what it is -

For a little education, let's take Memorex as an excellent example as DVD media goes, 90% of Memorex is sub-standard as far as DVD backups are concerned, figures as high as 50% coasters have been reported (One member bought a stack of 50 and got 23 good burns.), not what I would call an impressive record. Memorex made a name for itself with their magnetic tapes (VHS and audio cassettes) and have been living off it ever since. There are 4 different companies that manufacture Memorex DVD's BTW and product quality varies widely as you might imagine. Only 10% of the Memorex out there, those discs manufactured by Mitsubishi in the 25 pack spindle are any good. It's easy to see now why the quality of a big-named company can't be trusted - " Who's making your Memorex tonight ?"

Is it just Memorex ? No ! I just used Memorex as an example, Princo, Orange Pack, Great AZO and most "store" discs aren't all that suitable as a DVD backup media - that's why we are specific in the type of media we are recommending.