1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning DVD-R

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by Gers9, Jan 9, 2005.

1. Gers9

Gers9 Member

Hi,

Hoping someone can put me on the right direction as I'm new to all this!
    When I downloaded my first movie from a download site and burned it onto disc (dvd-r) it plays ok on my PC, but when I try it on my dvd player the disc doesn't read and it's the same on my laptop. I know that dvd-r's play on my dvd and laptop as I've played them before. Could it be the format of the the movie that I downloaded? What is the best format to download movies that can play in most if nor all DVD players?
    (My standalone dvd player can only play in DVD format)

Thank you.

2. Adder01

Adder01 Regular member

You need to convert the movie into "DVD format". What format is it in? AVI? MPEG?

Download GSpot, it will tell you the codec used to create the movie. Then you can work out what utils to use to convert the movie. TMPGEnc is a good place to start. Look in the Guides section once you know the file type.

Adder.

3. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

Hey rob,what brand of dvd-r media did you burn those files on?

How fast did you burn them?

High quality media and slow burnspeed are necessary to help the stand alone players to recognize them.

You said those stand alone players and lap top played dvd-r's before,was this on another burner or the same burner?

Different burners,different lasers. The standalones have a hard time recognizing dvd-r and dvd+r. All lasers have a different variation between them whether it is burning or playing them.It usually doesn't matter if it won't play them in their specs,you said they played dvd-r before. There is something about that burn that your other laptop and stand alone don't like.