1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning dvd's using sonic recordnow

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by mucheer, Mar 28, 2005.

  1. mucheer

    mucheer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I was just wondering if anyone could tell me what I need to do to burn copyprotected dvds using this program. Thanks.
     
  2. scf_au

    scf_au Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Try use DVD43 or AnyDVD to handle the region code and copyright problems.
    But my best advice: don't use this program, try Decrypter-Shrink-Nero instead.

     
  3. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Yes you will need to 'rip' the dvd first, then re-author/compression (if you wish to remove subtitles etc).

    Once you have done that Recordnow will burn it hands down.

    What version of recordnow have you got and what is your burner?

    Tools you may need:
    Dvd decrypter - ripper and free.
    Dvd2one - powerful re-authoring/compression program - but costs.
    Dvd Shrink - contains all of the above features.

    Dvd Shrink and Dvd2one will create a full set of dvd compliant files just ready to burn with Recordnow.

    If you need any help regarding Recordnow, drop me a line and I can give you some goodpointers, just let me know what version you are using and also themake/model of your burner....................
     
  4. DOLO

    DOLO Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am having the same issues. I have recordnow 7.3 and a philips dvd+-rw dvd8631. Can someone give me some help with buring these dvd's? Thanks
     
  5. fasfrank

    fasfrank Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Did you use any of the ripper programs baa-baa or scf_au listed?

    The encryption placed on the movie discs will prevent Recordnow from copying them.

    Process the disc with one of those listed programs and then use Recordnow to burn the files.
     
  6. DOLO

    DOLO Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I used the dvd shrink and the decrypter and I still could not get it to burn. Is there something I'm missing? Thanks
     
  7. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Let us know exactly what occured, errors etc.

    Also did you have all the files in a folder called VIDEO_TS (in uppercase)?
     
  8. fasfrank

    fasfrank Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  9. DOLO

    DOLO Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes all the files were in the VIDEO TS folder and yes this it is a Dell. The error message I keep getting is that MyDvd does not support this file type.
     
  10. fasfrank

    fasfrank Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  11. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hmmmm, it does seem that the common opinion of that drive is 'bad'......

    Recordnow and Mydvd are 2 totally different programs, which one are you using?

    Mydvd is mainly for dvd creation from home movies etc, and it maybe having difficulty burning dvd compliant files that the program itself has not created, and also comms issues with your burner.
    (I had this problem with a very early version of Mydvd)
    If you have any footage from a camcorder etc and can upload them to your PC, just try that and see if it will render the files and then burn them to dvd.
    I have also looked for your burner on their support list but cannot find the model.
    Did the software come 'bundled' with the software?


    Wouldn't it be nice if we could get it going..........

    Try as fasfrank suggested, we need to find out if it is a possible software or burner issue, and running the 'free' programs should prove that.

    After reading the several threads of this burner, there are obvious some other possibilities to try and resolve.

    1.Alternative software
    2.Check within BIOS and set IDE to auto rather than enabled
    3.Update the burners firmware
    4.Contact DELL and tell them you want a replacement, one that works at least.
     

Share This Page