1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

burning errors

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by m_d_h, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. m_d_h

    m_d_h Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey ive been burning movies ive downlaoded on my comp for a week now, and all fo the sudden when im burning now it fails. When i burn and convert wioth convertxtodvd a message comes up saying, "dvd burner dirty" and then with nero it just says operation failed. I have a philips external dvd burner. And i use maxell dvd's.
     
  2. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Post the entire error log from Nero. If you atempt again, save the compilation on your HDD and then open Nero Burning Rom and do the burn.

    Something else you might want to try:

    http://beginwithsoftware.com/videoguides/dvd-flick-guide.html

    Nero error log would be very helpful though in troubleshooting.
     
  3. m_d_h

    m_d_h Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey, how can i find the error log?
     
  4. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    c:\program files\ahead\nero\nerohistory.log

    careful not to post your serial number though.
     
  5. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    ...and here for Nero 7:

    Program Files>Nero>Nero 7>Core>NeroHistory.txt

     
  6. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Oh, thanks Cyprusrom, i forgot to post that one. :)
     
  7. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I am not sure about Nero 8, as I am still using an older, very stable version of Nero 7.
     
  8. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    'Nuff said, right there. I too have stuck with Nero7 for the same reason.
     
  9. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hmm i like v8 never liked the 2 versions on 7 i had...
     
  10. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I have 7.0.8.2!

    I know, many versions behind, but I never had an issue with it. I don't know, maybe I am too lazy to uninstall and install one of latest stable versions, or maybe because it never failed me, and the new versions don't think add ay new features that I would use. Not broken, why fix it?
    I never use Nero Vision- maybe that has something to do with my 100% success with this version of Nero.
    If it wasn't for NV, I think Nero would be a great package, with many happy customers. The great majority of the Nero error logs around here are from Nero Vision. Granted many of them are user errors too, but still, I think NV is a bloat.
     
  11. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I have also adopted don't fix what ain't broke philosophy with Nero. Nero7 is still working good for me as my back up burn program. I mostly use ImgBurn for backups and Nero for direct copies, amonst other things. So, at this point it works great the few times i use it. I haven't seen a reason to upgrade it yet.
     
  12. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I used to love DVD decrypter for burning when I was still using DVD Shrink. Now I use Nero Recode, and switched the burn to Nero Burning Rom. I never tried burning diectly with Nero Recode. Some people like to do all in "1 Click". I guess I like to do the process in steps, have more control; make sure the decryption/rip went okay; check and see if the reencoding/transcoding was done properly; then do the burn. I dread when I see the "Burn At Once" :)!
     
  13. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I also take comfort in the...process, that i use. I like to make sure the rip went well, etc. etc. So i definately know where you're coming from on that one.
     
  14. m_d_h

    m_d_h Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey, i cant find the history folder. I found the nero folder and then a bunch more folders come up, but nothing about history. I have nero 8 by the way..
     
  15. m_d_h

    m_d_h Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hye also i thought i'd just let u know. I dont think the problem is to do with my burner because i can still burn cd's, and also i can rip actual dvd's onto my computer adn then burn them no problem, for somereason i jus cant burn movies tht i downlaod from the internet even after they are converted either through convertxtodvd or nero8.
     
  16. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    what is the file format of the downloaded films via the net? are they avi?

    install this codec = http://www.xvidmovies.com/codec/

    then try convertxtodvd again
     
  17. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    What burner do you have? Is your firmware up to date? If not, it will not recognize your discs, which are low quality any way.
     
  18. m_d_h

    m_d_h Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey, im not to sure wat fromat my downlaods are, they are from aXXo, if tht helps you. I have an external philips dvd burner, I just bought it from bestbuy for $110. I have no clue how to figure out the firmware????
     
  19. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    imgburn = TOOLS / DRIVE / check FIRMWARE updates

    did you install codec?
     
  20. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    By "what DVD burner" you have I ment model( unless Philips makes one external DVD burner).But Rotary got it covered with the firmware check.
    Some people reported Maxell made by CMC Mag. When you load the disc in ImgBurn, check the media code .
    Get a disc cleaner.
     

Share This Page