1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning using Nero

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by rrestum, Aug 25, 2004.

  1. rrestum

    rrestum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi! I have downloaded DVD Decrypter & DVD shrink according to your forums. In addition I have a demo version of Nero 6.0 which I downloaded. I follow the steps listed in your guides to first decrypt which takes 1hr+ then shrink 1hr+ and when I go to burn it using Nero, it processes it for ever and gets hung up on 41% and then freezes and won't go any further. Am I doing this wrong. plz help!
     
  2. kcc76

    kcc76 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it may be that you are using a demo version??????
     
  3. rrestum

    rrestum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Do you suggest that I obtain Nero? Or is there another methods to which I can complete the entire process of burning the dvd?
     
  4. ccampbell

    ccampbell Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The Nero 6 Demo is fully functional, so the issue is not caused by using a Demo version of the Nero software.

    I would recommend ony using DVDShrink and Nero and see how you do. There is no need to use both DVD Decryptor and DVDShrink.

    There are guides on this form for using DVDShrink with Nero. You can just do a search on DVDShrink or go to the DVDShrink portion of this forum.

    Regards,

    Craig
     
  5. rrestum

    rrestum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks. I will give that a try and let you know if it works.
     
  6. rrestum

    rrestum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well I tried that and it froze again this time at 47%. This stinks because I have to pitch these DVD-R's and they are expensive. What am I doing wrong?

    This time I use DVD-Shrink and Nero.
     
  7. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Your times seem reallllly looong. Can you post your system specs? O/S, processor, ram, HD, free HD space? Also can you check to make sure DMA is enabled?
     
  8. rrestum

    rrestum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    System Specs:

    O/S - Windows XP Home Edition
    Processor - Intel Pentium 4 CPU 1.60 GHz
    Ram - 512
    HD - 74.47
    Free HD Space - 52.92

    I am not sure what DMA is?

    Thanks
     
  9. michigan

    michigan Guest

    Are you using Shrink first and using decrypter to burn (this is the right way) or are you using decrypter then Shrink?
     
  10. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    DMA is the transfer mode. To check: control panel -> system -> hardware tab -> device manager -> ide ata/atapi controllers -> right click on primary ide controller, then click properties -> advanced tab ... make sure you select DMA if available. Do the same for the secondary ide channel.

    When using Shrink are you using "Perform deep analysis"? And are you using "Enhanced Quality Settings"? Both can add time to the process
     
  11. michigan

    michigan Guest

    Can add time but he said it's stopping at 47%. I have heard that SP2 is causing all kinds of flaky problems thats why I asked
     
  12. rrestum

    rrestum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes I am using perform deep analysis. Is that unnecessary?
     
  13. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Not necessary, but preferred when backing up longer movies.

    Things you can try:
    1) Make sure your burner's firmware is up to date
    2) Make sure your burner is set as the master drive
    3) DMA is enabled
    4) Install a "working" aspi layer
    5) Defrag your HD
     

Share This Page