1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning Wii/GCN games - Newbie help!

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by VGM, Jun 10, 2007.

1. VGM

VGM Member

Hi!
    Im very new to the Wii burning/mod scene and have some questions if you dont mind. You people seem to know what your talking about and would like to some confirmation before I start anything.

Ive been reading up on how to burn Wii images but it seems all a bit confusing. Most ppl like using IMGBurn to burn images. Is this the best softwear to use? I have Nero 7 Ultra, but ive read that its not good to use.
    After you download an ISO or WII file. Ive read you need to unscramble the WII file using Rawdump 2.0. Then what? Just burn it?
    I have a LG GSA-H10A drive. Can this drive work to burn games? I dont care to create my own backups at the moment. Seems to confusing right now. :)
    Also I read somewhere that you can brick your system! So should I run the "Wii Brick Blocker" program before I burn it as well?

Basically what I would like to know is, is there a list of software and or a tut, explaining exactly what to do to burn Wii games?
    Oh ya is burning GCN games similar or is it completly different?

About media: I have Maxell DVD-R's are they any good or MUST I get those Verbatim dvd-r or yudens dvd-r's?

And whats this whole thing about patching? I dont get it?! o_O

thank you in advance.

VGM out...

2. Demaster

Demaster Regular member

Burning a game
    tutorial for burning a game - http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/471073

After downloading, unzip the files you've downloaded. Chances are, it'll come out as a .wii file. This is just the raw file. So if you were to rip a wii game for all it's data it would be read in as a .wii file. Next step is to use Rawdump 2.0 to turn it into a burnable .iso. After unzipping if you get a .iso just burn it, otherwise turn it into a .iso via Rawdump.