1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burnt disc with Nero, but it doesn't play

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by muffy3, Sep 19, 2003.

1. muffy3

muffy3 Member

I recently purchased a BenQ 4x4x12 DVD+RW that came with Nero 5.5(oem).I installed the burner as a master on the secondary. I tried burning a back-up copy of Knockaround Guys using Nero. I burnt it to the HD,then disc. When I try to play it back I only get the title then it stops.I tried on the PC and Sony DVP-NC600 player.I also purchased DVD X Copy Gold, but I can't use it because I don't have 10GB of free HD, only 5GB.I am new to burning DVD's and don't have a clue right now because I've read about a lot of different programs for burning. I have a Compaq 5736, P3 550mhz,Win XP, HP CD+RW installed as Master on primary, 15GB HD only 5GB free, 256MB Ram. Someone please help me and tell me what I am doing wrong. I have a little knowledge. Do I need a larger HD or newer comp. It's 3 yrs. old. Thanks in advance.

2. Discmania

Discmania Active member

A larger HD is essential if you plan on making backups of DVD's. However if the disc does not play check that all the files were ripped and then dragged into nero. It could be that the disc itself is crap so try changing the disc. Also make sure you upgrade to the latest version of Nero 5.5 which is 5.5.10.50. What ripping tool did you use for the original disc?

3. baabaa

baabaa Active member

As discmania stated - a larger hard drive is really required.

However, you could use Dvd Shrink - as this can process EVERYTHING from the disc - rip/strip/compress/re-author.

Your specs are slightly lower than mine, this will mean it may take 1hr-1hr1/2 to process the disc but should work well enough.

I forgot - visit http://www.chrismccann.co.uk for Dvd Shrink download (yes it is free aswell) and an excellent beginners guide. this should help you out......