1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burnt DVD playback probs

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by nellygirl, Jan 27, 2005.

1. nellygirl

nellygirl Member

Hi all. I am a newbie who has burnt quite a few DVD-R successfully, however, lately new DVD's I am backing up Shrink ok and encode ok, but after Decrypter burns them to DVD-R I put them into my DVD player which supports this format and they play the first few chapters perfect, then it starts freezing and pausing throughout the DVD, continues on playing ok, then pauses again and the timer actually pauses on the DVD player itself and jumps 3 to 4 seconds after freezing. I have burnt at 2x and 4x and the TDK dvd's I use are 8x. I have a Compaq Presario laptop Pentium 4, 40gig HDD, 512m RAM and using an Internal LITEON 8x DVD writer connected as an external unit via a USB cable. What can cause this pausing/skipping when playing back. What am I doing wrong? I tried compressing the extras which took up a lot of space on some DVD's, this helped it to playback better , but still not 100%. any hints?

2. Egypt322

Egypt322 Guest

I had same problem, so I started using a different software to burn. It does it all in one click. My problem is my dvd player (the one on my tv) keeps saying disk error now. Why is it doing this? I use Maxell dvd-r 4x

3. laddyboy

laddyboy Regular member

Although there are a number of things that could cause this problem, the most likely is the media. Even blanks within the same cakebox can vary in quality. Try a different brand or switch to RW disks until you identify the problem for sure.

4. squizzle

squizzle Active member

Media compatibility with your DVD player is most likely the problem. Try a different DVD player. Maybe your lens is dirty. Are the backups you made that worked fine before still working fine?

5. Egypt322

Egypt322 Guest